The Glens of Antrim


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Northern Ireland » County Antrim » Bushmills
September 20th 2007
Published: September 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

There are two things that Ireland does not have: one single faucet that mixes the hot and cold water (what's with one tap for hot water and one tap for cold? I keep burning my left hand and freezing my right. Half my face is always scalded!

The other thing it doesn't have is an abundance of internet cafes. That's why I have not been able to post any pictures. Maybe by the time I'm finished this blog, I'll have been able to coax this computer into cooperating. In the meantime, I'll jot some notes about what we've been doing.

Words can't do justice, unfortunately, to the nine glorious Glens of Antrim, where we have been for the past few days. The Glens are a giant patchwork of Ireland's famous "40 shades of green" as far as the eye can see. They are so beautiful they take your breath away (either that or it's the gale-force winds coming off the Atlantic). We went up to the Giant's Causeway, which is a strange mountain of oddly-shaped stones like a child's building blocks that disappear into into the sea. Each stone is shaped like a stop sign. Scientists say the stones were formed by an eruption of lava but I prefer the legend which says the Causeway was created when a giant called Finn McCool tried to build a bridge across the water to Scotland.

We've been having lots of laughs. The Irish sense of humour is hysterical, and so is the occasional language barrier. Like, for instance when we were in Port Rush, I asked the hotel clerk: Can you tell me where the library is?"

"Oh aye" she said, "See that red brick building? It's just around the corner."

Wondering if it was within walking distance, I said, "is it close?"

"Och no," she said, "it's open til 3 o'clock."

Today, we're in Belfast, having tea in my Aunt Leila's with Akela... listening to my young cousing Bill play guitar and sing. Remember his name--Bill McShane... you'll be buying his records one day.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Giant's CausewayGiant's Causeway
Giant's Causeway

Rose at the causeway
Station Bar, LarneStation Bar, Larne
Station Bar, Larne

The friendly bartender, Stephen, gave us these football jerseys.
we hiked down to this cabinwe hiked down to this cabin
we hiked down to this cabin

This little cabin was set down in the glen, a brave hike through steep sheep pasture.
cottage in the Glenscottage in the Glens
cottage in the Glens

Look at how tiny the door was... the ancient Irish must have been tiny people.


21st September 2007

Fun!
What fun! That picture of Nana is lovely! I will DEFINITELY be begging an "interesting" pint glass from you when you get home. And those Guinness Jerseys are great! Good job, ladies ! What a haul! Hooray for pictures!!!!
21st September 2007

No fair Dumbhead, you get to have all th fun.
24th September 2007

Torr's head.... I could have sworn that's Deb's head... haha
26th September 2007

Aye me... the glens
This Uke is feeling homesick for the glens.... Btw... your mother is gorgeous ~

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb