Spookiest Car Ride Ever . . .


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Northern Ireland » County Antrim » Antrim
November 10th 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This is a side story from “4 Days and 3 Nights around Ireland” which will be published shortly. For those of you who know me, which again is most of you, I do not do well with fear. I have always had an incredibly vivid imagination so when I’m put into a situation that looks remotely spooky or even worse I’m shown something horrifying, I will be in nightmare land for days. Well, on the car ride from our B&B at the Brown’s to finding a wee bit of nourishment we spooked ourselves silly. First of all, Brian and I had the brilliant idea of walking down to the Causeway at night. I claimed my night vision was superb, but we had no idea the causeway was a few kilometers walking distance from the parking lot. The funny thing about Ireland is there aren’t any lights where there doesn’t need to be lights. No excess. So on the road, no streetlights. Walking to what we thought was the Causeway, no lights. A few steps in and I could already feel my heart racing as the darkness surrounded me. Hurriedly getting back into the car, we began to catch our breaths and drive again. Now, as I said before, there are no streetlights. In this particular area though, there are also no houses or buildings. So as we are driving on this twisting windy road, the only light in front of us is a spooky looking hotel on top of a hill. Scenes from “The Shining” and “Clue” kept popping into my head as I checked and re-checked the door locks. On the sides of the road, the trees seemed to be encroaching closer and closer on the road space so that really there was no where to go but straight on ahead. For the first time since the three of us had been together, neither Cheryl, Brian, nor I spoke. Of course we made it to the hotel safely to get food, but when the engine turned off, the three of us simultaneously opened the doors and ran full speed towards the light of the hotel lobby.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.2197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb