The Story of Finn MacCool


Advertisement
Published: June 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone......well like Lisa said, we made it to the one thing I wanted to see while in Ireland......The Giant's Causeway...Home of Finn MacCool. Google his name or giant's causeway to learn more of the legend. What an awe inspiring and magestic place. The stones are so amazing to gaze at and even more amazing to sit on, close your eyes, and think about the ancient history of the area. The Irish Godesses were with us today, giving us a beautiful blue skies and sun. It was very windy tho' and I could see how you could get swept off into the North Atlantic!The North Atlantic was crashing into the coast reminding us how powerful it is. Because it was so clear today we could see the coast of Scotland (16 miles away) to one side and the Londonderry coast, which is part of The Republic of Ireland on the other side. Lisa and I enjoyed lunch at the Causeway Hotel....she had chicken gougons(chicken strips) and I had steak and guiness pie! All I can say is that if you are ever in Northern Ireland you need to go see this 8th wonder of the world. Overlook the fact that there are lots of people around and just sit and close your eyes and think of Finn MacCool!
Cheers
Sande


Advertisement



30th June 2008

Sounds like much drinking...wish I was there
Hi Girls, Glad to hear you are having a great time. Sounds like I have missed a few rounds and will have to go there sometime to catch up. I am back in Edmonton after having some great riding down in the States. When you get a chance check out Hells Canyon (Oregon I think). If you can google earth it you may be able to see the twisty roads. It is the deepest river gorge in north america...yes, deeper than the grand canyon. What a ride! Will stay with Gramma tomorrow (Monday) night and at Uncle John's on Tuesday night. Will head home early on Wednesday and I suspect I will be there late Friday. Looking forward to seeing you. I miss you. All my love, Rick

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb