Exploring the County Antrim coastline and countryside(Part ONe)


Advertisement
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

COUNTY ANTRIM IS ONE of the territorial counties in Northern Ireland where you could find several interesting places to explore. One of them is the coastline where two well-visited tourist attractions could be found, namely: the Giants Causeway and the Carrick-a-Rede hanging bridge. Aside from these attractions, there are beautiful beaches and parks found in the county which I will also covered in my travel blog in the near future.

In this journal, thru my photographs I mainly focused on the amazing formation of the Giant's Causeway as a world heritage site in Northern Ireland. There are interesting features associated with this Giant such as the camel, the granny, the wishing chair, chimney tops, giant's boot, and the organ which could be seen in the photographs. Often referred as the 8th wonder of the world, the Giant has a peculiar formation of more than 4,000 solid stones caused by by colling lava which produced hexagonal shape.

On the other hand, I also visited the location of the hangin bridge, Carrick-A-Redem which means ''the rock in the road'' or ''passage of salmon'' having a deep chasm of 600 ft wide, hanging from 80 feet above high water. During the visit, it was windy and visitors were not allowed to cross the bridge. But with my persuasion to the old man who collects the £2 entrance fee, he decided to let me enjoy the swaying bridge!

My photographs taken in these areas captured the beautiful coastline that matches the green-brown hilly side of it.

My first visit to these places was last March 2006, but for the sake of having it posted first from the rest of my previous journals, I indicated it when I posted it here in the site. Eventually, I will do the update in my Part Two edition




Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb