And I'm off...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
September 4th 2006
Published: September 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The travel to Bulgaria was exhausting, from 2pm when I was dropped off at Sheffield Station (thanks Dad) I travelled thru till 4am the next morning. The train down to London St.Pancras was harmless enough, I was kept entertained by the caricatures of human beings that surrounded on all sides. I sat opposite Michael Portillo who (little known fact) has a passion for arranging assorted fruit into neat piles and is a fan of spy thrillers. A gentleman to my right was studying a LADIES fashion MAGAZINE with increasing fascination throughout the 3 hour journey. He was particularly taken with a photograph of a man dressed as a cowboy which he kept on returning to, bringing the image up to his scrutinizing eye and then returning it with a wry smile and a nod. I travelled across London to get the connecting train (an overground underground) onwards to Gatwick. There a tramp stung me for a packet of crisps (sorry Dad) and the remainder of my Vimto. It was the commuter express to Brighton. EVERYONE READING NEWSPAPERS.
Gatwick airport. Boredom. A smoking capsule.
Most interesting fact about GATWICK AIRPORT >> there is a door that you find when searching the lost corridors on the quest for a smoking area >> this door is labelled 39 steps. A reason to fly from somewhere else >> screaming little children.

Advertisement



11th September 2006

Hello Sunshine
Dear Rich, How are you. The messages are very impersonal and as usual I need more details. I like the photos. What date are you planning to return? Write me a long letter soon. Love Mum xxx

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb