England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
July 31st 2014
Published: July 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

While in London I went to the Farnbrough Air show, the alternate every two years between here and Paris. I’ve always wanted to see an airshow so I was very happy to get to it, they had everything from vintage bi and tri planes to the latest Boeing 787 (the Dreamliner) and several fighter gets including the F 35, the Volcan and a harrier. The nine red arrows did stunts and manures, including making a heart in the sky out of smoke. Then they just stopped and one of them pulled away from the others it landed about five minutes later and was followed down the runway by two fire trucks. We found later there had been a bird strike, the pilot landed safely and was unharmed. Unfortunately it was the hottest day of the year so it was hard to stay for everything under the intense heat.

The film museum had a display of vehicles from every single James Bond movie, including, cars, bikes, props and miniatures, so I was happy to see that.

I went up to Manchester for a few days to see a few people I was at Brettargh with. While there we did a tour of the Concorde that is based at Manchester airport, that was fantastic.

While in London I went to the Science, Natural History, and British museums. I also saw the Phantom, it was so well done, at the end the entire audience gave a standing ovation to the phantom.

Thirty six hours before I was meant to go to Israel, rockets landed 1km away from the Tel Aviv, which is where I was flying into. At this point the American Airlines and many of the European ones did fly there. It was a really hard decision but I decided to pull out as the countries have been there for thousands of years and they will be there in the future when it’s safer. If you are going to pull out of a 21 day tour don’t do it at the height of summer in Europe, when making changes and booking accommodation is difficult. It was very hard getting a flight out of Heathrow so I got one out of Stockholm, before that I have a week in Scandinavia. Unfortunately it’s been quite draining trying to replan this time as so often I was told its full or its booked out!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb