Last 2 months, England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
September 17th 2006
Published: September 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


London EyeLondon EyeLondon Eye

On board the flight, overlooking the Thames and Houses of Parliament
Well kids of the world, I haven't updated this since Manchester, which was mid-late July. So a few months have passed to now. But to be frank there was never much travel going on in this time so therefore it would have been a very unexciting thing to read! (if it isn't already?). Basically just day to day living, working, cricket, played a bit of golf (ah Links courses!!!), sometimes your down, sometimes your up. Mostly up though and I know I will look back on things fondly, and have made some great friends over here!!!!!! Thanks to all those who put up with me!!!!

My cricket has finished here in England and without sounding bad, I was ready for the end of the season. I enjoyed my last few weeks of playing, having a laugh with the guys and soaking it up a bit I guess. In our main league on Saturdays I made just under 700 runs at an average of 48, while on the Sunday (thought to be the harder league) I made just over 400 runs at an average of 68. I took 30 wickets at an average of 28, while on the Sunday I don't
Kiera and IKiera and IKiera and I

Perfection
have any details but I think it was about 10 wickets at 30. So a fairly good solid season, and my dues to Galleywood Cricket Club are now finished.

Its been an interesting experience mixed with highs and lows. But I was pleased to play on the Sunday this year, with a much higher quality than previously. We even played against a Sri Lankan international who held the record for the most 6's in the last Hong Kong 6's competition. Needless to say he hit me for the biggest 6 I have been hit for.

Then in my last proper game here, I managed to scramble 160, in the secodn last over I was hit on the chin by a beam ball, which split open my chin, unbeknowns to me who was complaining to the umpire about the legality of the delivery. I looked down to see all the blood over my gear. I thought about going off but with one over remaining I stayed on (pretty tough hey???). Anyway I was pretty angry and hit the next four balls for 4,6,4,6. After batting I was taken to hospital to get 3 stitches (in the same emergency ward
Me playing cricketMe playing cricketMe playing cricket

About to play some shot
as Jack Osbourne). So it was a weird way to finish my cricket here. But stay calm everyone, my amazing looks have remained fairly much intact.

Although I haven't done much sightseeing as of late, I have managed to enjoy myself out and about during the week and at weekends. Been lots of fun, with various nights out happening on a whim, which is weird when they turn out to be regular that it would be considered a whim, but thats how it feels anyway. I have met some great people and had a fair bit of fun!

I was wanting to see another Premiership football match before I left England and was lucky enough to travel up to Blackburn with Stu (who's house I stayed at last year) to see Blackburn Rovers play Everton at E Wood Park. Stu is a massive Blackburn fan and attends 95% of games for the year, being a season ticket holder he had an extra seat so I took up the offer.

It was about a 4 to 4.5 hour drive up there, with plenty of rain and traffic works along the way. We got up there and for many
Brent pose on LionBrent pose on LionBrent pose on Lion

My David Brent pose on the Tralfagar Square Lion
of the supporters, its like a small family seeing each other at a reunion (this was their first home game of the season). Just like last year, I am impressed with the atmosphere, the singing and chants are fantastic to sit there and listen to, even though some are very hard to understand. There is ‘friendly’ banter between the crowds ''Same old scousers, always stealing'' came out from the Blackburn supporters.

The game was pretty attacking, Blackburn had the better of the first half but failed to put the score on the board. They scored inside 10 minutes into the second half and the crowd was well excited. I was personally happy just to see a goal. They then went a bit defensive and Everton kept surging. Then my good mate Timothy Cahill entered, and produced the equaliser 8 minutes out from the end. As he scored I got pumped up and started clapping and shoutting out ''Yeah''. It was with a few stares that I remembered I was sitting in the Blackburn season ticket section and that cheering for an Everton goal was probably not the best move. So immediately I stopped and made out I was totally
WindsorWindsorWindsor

Streets of Windsor
depressed that Everton had scored to try and fit in!

The game finished in a 1-1 draw. We headed off back for Essex and after a 4 or so hour trip we finally got back at 2:30 in the morning, and after a leisurely night sleep up for work again the next morning.

I met up with ex work colleague, Czarina, from Melbourne in London for a day out. Leisurely strolling around London (as you do), just the usual sites. The Covent Garden scenery was truly amazing! Another person just gone on Contiki so it was good to reminisce. Had a few drinks and then bid adieu.

I finished work with Woodland here a week or so ago. It goes so quickly! I remember getting there the first day and counting down the number of weeks to go before I would finish. Then all of a sudden its on you in an instant! A fair few work colleagues came out my last night to say goodbye and it was a pretty big night! Very sore the next day!

The last week I have been in London. Luckily able to stay in Shepherd's Bush with Lisa, a friend I met in Pamplona, and her flat mates. It was weird getting out at the tube at Shepherd's Bush as I hadn't spoken to too many Aussies in the last couple of months and all of a sudden you could hear lots of them and pick them out really easily. We had a good night having a few drinks with about 8 of them, before the Tuesday just lounging around and kicking back. On the Wednesday I met up with Amanda and Katie (school friends) and we took a day trip out to Windsor.

Its a beautiful little town and walking around Windsor Castle was very impressive. The stately rooms, where according to our audio guides the queen can entertain all her guests. Every room seemed to be used to entertain (that Queen is such a party animal!). So we had a nice pub lunch down the small little lanes, and it was the sort of place that I always imagined England to be like. Very nice.

We then headed back into London and had a few drinks and dinner before saying goodbye and the girls were off to Oktoberfest the next day.

I headed back
Me playing cricketMe playing cricketMe playing cricket

In case you wanted proof. Here is me trying to intimidate the bowler after blocking the ball.
to Shepherd's Bush for the night. The Thursday I spent finally getting on and riding the London Eye. After putting it off for so long I thought that if I didn't do it soon I would perhaps never do it. It was relatively clear and you could see a long way out which was lucky. Took some good photos and that. Then I made it to Russell Square to make some enquiries about Contiki possibilities next year. There seems a chance I may be able to get work with them, I just have to email and fill out some forms. I think the chances are very little given my visa runs out soon, but I will see what happens. From there I wandered around Camden Market, which was buzzing! There are vast and different people there, but it was all really cool. From here I headed back to Shepherd's Bush got my stuff and caught up with Brett and Heather for some drinks and dinner. After a few too many I crashed on their floor for the night.

Friday I spent the morning at Madame Tussaud's, which I had no real intention of ever going to visit, but a
PopularPopularPopular

Making shops about me now
discounted ticket with the London Eye one meant I thought, what the hey! There were lots of people in there, and its pretty interesting. I got the usual sort of photos, with Kylie, Beckhams, Elvis etc. and its great to see little Johnny Howard there. After this and a walk along Baker Street, I headed down to Hyde Park for a rest. It was good as the sun was out.

I then made my way back to Chelmsford and was lucky enough to be invited around for a roast dinner with friend's from cricket. Very nice! And I was given wine after wine, which finished me pretty early!

So that brings me to where I am at now! Having flown to Ireland to begin my next travels. Again today brought another travel delay!!!! I took 25 flights last year and numerous bus trips, but can I only remember 1 delay. This time 75% of my travel has endured lengthy delays!!!!!! This time we arrived in Dublin 3.5 hours after we were supposed to be and as its the All Ireland Final Day (equivalent of AFL Grand Final Day), many people were on the flight to get to the
Me and Little JohnnyMe and Little JohnnyMe and Little Johnny

The taller version of Johnny at Madame Tussaud's
game! Many started to get impatient as there was a big chance they would miss the game! I sat next to this girl who was really worried about it all but I believe they all got there in time. It was played between Ciarrai (or in English, Kerry) and Meigh Eo (or in English, Mayo), with Kerry winning fairly comfortably. I walked around Croke Park while it was going on and then went to watch it at a pub, which was pretty good!!!

Tomorrow I begin my 10 day tour of Ireland and look forward to the new experience.

I must say I was very saddened to hear the news about Steve Irwin and Peter Brock's deaths back home. Steve's death was very big news over in England too, on front of all the newspapers. Very upsetting to see two geniunely nice Aussies leave us. Then we have to put up with people like Germain Greer!

Well thats all from me now. I will update soon with my travels around Ireland, before I head to Scotland. These aren't all the photos I will put up on this blog, as many are back in England. Anyway enjoy everyone!!!!
Kylie and myselfKylie and myselfKylie and myself

I was told to put my hand there by the Aussie who took my photo




Advertisement



20th September 2006

Go Ireland
Man you will have an awesome time in Ireland, I totally loved it. The people are just so jolly ALL the time! And get into their music man, its so jiggity!! Ask Viv Nat and Shelly about "alive alive oh" Whoa splitting your chin that sounds a bit serious, hope it's all better now. Enjoy ireland anyhow, you're not doing the shamrock tour are you?

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb