The Day before Tomorrow (...today)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
February 28th 2013
Published: February 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Like the stereotypical opening of a high school speech, 'When I first decided to do this blog, I didn't know what to think, or what to do. How does society define the word 'blog'? And what really IS the meaning of travel?' And then I slapped myself for being a massive tool. So alas, welcome to my first entry. I'll try to keep it going.

Writing from the comfort of my own bed isn't exactly the typical start to an exotic travel blog, but hey - all journey's have to begin somewhere right? (I know...I didn't think I was that deep either.)I've spent a bit of time thinking about the style of the blog and whether I should aim for well written pieces or or just be mega cash and chat like I do with ma buds. I've decided it's going to be a crazy mix of the two, so if you think it sounds mildly (very) schizophrenic please do not be alarmed: While I harbour a lot of love for The Lord of the Rings, I am NOT turning into Gollum.

I am however a very stupid newly 19 year old (yay!). Even after anoter year of apparently 'growing up' last night I still found myself packing last minute.com style and cramming to read itinerary information as if I was revising for an exam. So not much has changed.

I do have one conplaint though- Really annoyed at the fact that you think you're going to be all cool and free and travelling and then it's like BAM don't forget all your paperwork. In carrying an actual book. Travel insurance, tour documents, bus passes...hostel info, flight tickets.. It's all too much! All i wanted was to just pack up my heart and soul and embrace another part of the world!!!!! But nay, bureaucracy shatters your dreams. To be honest, I suppose I was late in the game because it's only really hit me that ill be spending a couple of months away from home!
Now Im pumped with adrenaline, excitement and the strange desire to be a super trekky gal.
Handmade wooden necklace? Check.
bandana? Check.
Small backpack on the front and big'un on the back? Check.
And of course...Money belt? Massive check. Yep that's right. My bum bag. Ma fanny pack. And if you feel embarrassed on my behalf, then go do one. They're so bloody practical, people are genuinely shocked how quickly i can whack my passport out. oh well... Haters gon hate!

I reckon there's not much else to say now. My flight is going to be pretty soon, so im very preoccupied with the though of sleep and puzzle books. Oh and can I say that airports are just SO exciting!?!?!?! Secretly hoping that they're going to look at my passport and birthdate then upgrade me to business class. One can only hope! Off to Doha first then arrive in Vietnam tomorrow!!!

Anyway...thanks for reading you crazy cats...hopefully it hasn't been too much a waste of time. Maybe you can liked it to a guilty pleasure. Like Justin bieber baby feat the goat.

Please feel free to leave me some feedback; I want this to be something ill look back on and remember how I felt. But constructive criticism only please. Don't be a bitch about it.

OH and a massive thanks and lots of love to my fantastic friends and family who I'm going to miss a LOT. (Sorry this is so poorly ordered... I just have a lot of feelings I guess.)

Over and out,
love prem.

Ps Meghan wanted me to do a few hash tags for every entry.
So today's are #luvinlufe2k13 #insanelyexcited #shitdidIturnthehairdryeroff

Advertisement



7th March 2013

have an epic time!
reading this is making me miss you so much and your just about to head out so no chance of seeing you anytime soon you big bumhead! you better keep us updated regularly and cant wait to hear all about it. loveyou xx
7th March 2013

have an epic time!
reading this is making me miss you so much and your just about to head out so no chance of seeing you anytime soon you big bumhead! you better keep us updated regularly and cant wait to hear all about it. loveyou xx
8th March 2013

ginger you are such a cutie pie. LOVE YOU LOTS

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.078s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb