The Seven Ps


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
May 30th 2010
Published: May 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

And so it begins!

My father used to often say "I will write a book one day." And he didn't.

I used to say "I will become a journalist." And I didn't.

So now, at an age when pretty women look at my children rather than me, I will console myself with writing a travel blog and what a good year to start.

2010! Volcanoes erupting all over, planes grounded because of dust or strikes. The blood of the earth spewing its contents into the Gulf of Mexico, with no sign of stopping and we have four trips planned already.

Fortunately the first is in Brighton in June for a weekend to celebrate the birthday of my wife, Carole. I am reminded of the famous last words "Nothing can go wrong now!" . A simple trip to the Gay capital of......the world(?). The curtains will be nice, that's for sure.

We then get a little backpacky, like Chris and Hayley, but it is a simpler version of our 30th Anniversary gig around Europe (of which you may hear more on dull days). We fly to Rome, train to Florence, train to Pisa and then chill out in Malta. Flights and hotels booked and paid for, so anticipation rumbles within both of us.

And then we get to December and as is our want, we are off to Paris to see the Xmas lights on the Champs Elysees, the market at La Defense and sit in awe at both Notre Dame and the Eiffel Tower, while partaking of the local fayre. Charlie is the lucky child who joins us this time and we plan to visit probably the best cemetary in the world (that I have seen - better than Kensal Green and my parents are there). Charlie loves Jim Morrison and so a pilgrimage to the tucked away, fenced off grave will be a tick in the box for him.

We said we wanted to go somewhere else for New Year. Drinking and dancing with close family and friends is great, but let's do it in Edinburgh for Hogmanay. That makes sense.

I hate the internet!

We have booked five nights in New York travelling on 31st December.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb