Looking in, looking back


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
August 18th 2009
Published: November 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This was going to be a final post about the end of my summer travels. It's taken a long time because in all honesty I didn't know what to write. Its only now that I realise that we never really stop travelling. We may return home, see familiar faces and return to familiar routines but thats not an end, we still move we still grow.

The journey is never really over, there is no destination, just a different road with a different scenery, climate and laws. So its while I'm probably on the biggest journey of my life that I can look back at the time I spent away and try and find what lessons I have learned.

Those who travel soley to become a different person miss the point. You could do that in the comfort of your own home. What traveling does is to open new horizons and see new things, providing that you allow yourself to see them.

The important thing is to be content with what you have and be patient about getting what you want. Being content in what you are and what you have allows you to see what you really need. Whether thats time alone or more time with friends just talking, or being more accepting of others.

It is impossible when writing about such introspection to not come across as pompous and above it all. And so I think that while my own journey isn't over yet, this blog, has reached its destination.

And so until the itch becomes untolerable and I pick up my bags for pastures new I say goodbye and happy journeys.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb