Last night in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
July 29th 2009
Published: July 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

SwedenSwedenSweden

outside of the Sheridan
My mind is jello. We had a very good and long day with the Ministry for Transport. Like the Swedes, Climate Change and Economic Growth permeate everything they do. I had to go way back in my mind to remember my Parliamentary form of government from college political science classes. It is very different from our system. Gas is $3.50 a liter here and 50% is taxes. The Treasury Deprtment ccan change the tax based on inflation without getting any approval from Parliament.

We learned alot of detail today. Bottom line... negotiating agreements seems to be the modus operandi. I am further led to believe that we at ARC are really ahead of the game and doing great things with our performance based approach. The English have spent ten years doing this and we can learn much from them.

We took our hosts to a wonderful Indian Restaurant tonight. The dinner was only three hours instead of four. Jake, our coordinator, has done a great job organizing everything. All we have to do is sit down at the restuarants and they start bringing food to us. Jake is a retired Army colonel and has has us marching to his
LondonLondonLondon

Daniela Bremmer from Washington State DOT
commands.

Tomorrow after another full day at the Ministry of Transport we make our way back to Heathrow at 6:30 for the 9:30 flight to Bangkok, a four hour layover and then on to Sydney. I am told the leg to Bangkok will be 12 hours and the leg to Sydney will be another 9 hours.

Please wish Fred a happy birthday for me. I am going to be in the air for about 20 hours of his birthday. I hope I can call you during my layover!!

I am loading the last of my Sweden photos that I screwed up last night and the rest of my London photos today. We ran down to Buckingham Palace and shot some photos before dinner. Sue, I bought three kinds of tea, which i could probably buy in the states, but it sounds better to say you bought tea in London.

Hopefully i can get a few more souvenirs before we leave.

I probably won't be able to make an entry until i get to Australia. Keep the comments coming!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

SwedenSweden
Sweden

outside the Sheridan
SwedenSweden
Sweden

central train station
SwedenSweden
Sweden

central train station
SwedenSweden
Sweden

Arlanda Express
SwedenSweden
Sweden

train got up to 205 km/hr
SwedenSweden
Sweden

train platform
swedensweden
sweden

arlanda express
LondonLondon
London

Umbrella art
LondonLondon
London

Umbrella art
LondonLondon
London

Department for transport
LondonLondon
London

department for transport
LondonLondon
London

pay to park by phone
LondonLondon
London

residentail street
LondonLondon
London

Gate at Buckingham Palace
LondonLondon
London

ambulance inside the palace gate
LondonLondon
London

the famous place in front of the Palace which I should know what it is but I don't
LondonLondon
London

Guard inside the Palace
LondonLondon
London

Bulldozer inside the Palace
LondonLondon
London

Flying the Union Jack


29th July 2009

WOW gas 50% tax, and pay by phone to park. Your doing better on eating, 3 hours and not 4. I bet Buckingham Palace was pretty, I no you were thinking about princess Diana when you were there. So you can have a spot of tea when you get home. Thailand then Australia what a looooooooooong trip. Be careful and be safe sue
30th July 2009

This is great commentary
your enthusiasm really comes through in spite of the weariness you must feel! Now I understand that when we get foreign travelers to ARC to learn about an aspect of transportation why it's such a very special trip that they are on and our hospitality really represents who we are! Can't wait to hear your accounts of the other half of the world!
30th July 2009

What a wonderful trip!
So glad you are sharing with all of us on a daily basis. I've forwarded the link to Dania, Cindy and Angela so they can also share. Hope you get some sleep!
30th July 2009

Enjoy London and the rest...
Jane - wonderful to see all the pictures and that you are enjoying your trip. Hopefully, I'll get to head to South America and do something similar. If I do, I'll definitely keep a blog! Keep us updated with pictures and your wonderful comments. Let's do lunch when you get back to ATL. Dania
30th July 2009

If it's Friday, it must be......
an ominous set of pics - an ambulance and a bulldozer inside the palace!
30th July 2009

If it's Friday, it must be......
an ominous set of pics - an ambulance and a bulldozer inside the palace!
31st July 2009

Awesome Pictures
Hope you can get some rest.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb