The end is nigh!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
June 18th 2009
Published: June 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey there,

Welcome to my final blog. I am back i the UK after a three day stopover in Singapore.
Singapore was a pretty interesting place although a ridiculously hot ad humid one, I don't think I've ever appreciated aircon as much!
Singapore is a very multicultural place but I got the impression that the different ethic groups don't mix that much, Little India and Chinatown were very separate and very distinct from the rest of the city. Little India was particularly fascinating as it's small streets, pavements cluttered with stalls and slightly anarchic feel were a marked contrast to the spick and span highrises and malls of the CBD and quay areas.
The number of shops and malls in Singapore is frankly ridiculous, quite how there are enough customers to go around escapes me.
Another peculiarity is Sentosa Island, it is an island about 500m of the coast. It can't seem to make up it's mind whether it wants to be a theme-park or a holiday resort. It is also subject to some extensive building so it seemed like wandering around touristy building site. The biggest oddity though are the imported beaches where one can lounge on the beach while watching half of the worlds container-shipping pass just in front of you!
On the whole a good stopover and welcome change of scenery (although a bit hot and humid for my tastes).

So this is it, after 3 months and 5 countries my trip is over. I am glad to be home in some ways but in equal measure I could quite easily jet off elsewhere if finances allowed.
It has been a fantastic trip with Argentina and NZ probably being the highlights.
I hope you've enjoyed reading this nonsense.
Until my next trip.......


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



18th June 2009

welcome home!
welcome home mate, you've been sorely missed! sounds like you've had a brill time away, coming home might take some adjustment tho :-) catch you this weekend for a beer or six

Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.043s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1804s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb