Back to London Town and Off to School


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
February 13th 2009
Published: February 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Location of School!


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Awesome Elevator Thing...i forget the Name 18 secs
2: My room 30 secs
3: Fire Juggler 23 secs
4: Campus 30 secs
Before school started about 40 international students met in London for a 3 day orientation. I won’t post many pictures from that because I already have pictures up from when Amanda and I went to London. But I thought I would just kind of mention what we did….so….

After surviving hauling my very ridiculously heavy bags through the tube and into the hotel our group set out for the Tower of London. We ended up taking the river boat cruise down the Thames while an announcer pointed out buildings along the shore. Once arriving at the Tower of London our guide, Susannah, gave us an outside tour and told us the history of the Tower. I can’t believe that it has been standing in Central London since before America was even founded…that is unreal to me! Having already been there, I mostly stayed with a girl named Madison that I met earlier that day. We saw the Crown Jewels and the armor again and then our whole group proceeded back to the hotel and a group of us went to a pub nearby for supper. The following days we went to see the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, Parliament, Westminster Abbey,
Traitor's Gate Tower of LondonTraitor's Gate Tower of LondonTraitor's Gate Tower of London

where the prisoners entered
and Shakespeare’s Globe Theater. Inside Westminster there are many graves of notable Englishmen and women such as past kings and Queens. We were able to take a tour of the Globe, which was pretty cool. It is a working replica of the original even down to the thatched roof! There are still performances there in the summers.

Our group had an hour tour at the British Museum and then some free time, so Madison and I stayed and continued to look around at some of the other exhibits. There is just so much to see there! That night we were given a “Jack the Ripper” Tour. It was kind of morbid, but interesting. Jack the Ripper was a serial killer in London around 1890. He was never found. Our tour took us around where he killed people basically…and other various important places of turn-of-the-century-London. The last day in town was the Globe Theater where we were taken inside the seating areas and told the history of Shakespearian London and were able to see the incredible remake of the stage and seating of the theater. Here is another movie reference…if you have ever seen Shakespeare in Love the theater looks exactly the same as in the film. We also went to the Tate Modern, which I had already seen. Early in the afternoon we jumped on a bus to go to the University of Leicester so we could move into our dorm rooms for the semester. I was so ready to just unpack!!

The University of Leicester is pretty neat…it has a small campus, but I like it. I take the bus to class every morning since the dorms are pretty far away, but I don’t mind really and I am super excited that I have my own room and the people in my block are pretty awesome. I have uploaded a few pics of my room and the city center and some of the University as well. So check it out and see where I am spending most of my time!

**note for the videos: sorry but the elevator thing is sideways...so imagine it going up and down. the elevator never stops you just jump on!



Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Prince Harry and William's HousePrince Harry and William's House
Prince Harry and William's House

even though i stalked diligently, i did not see them
Prince Charles's HousePrince Charles's House
Prince Charles's House

The guards thwarted my mission to sneak in...darn
AgainAgain
Again

the most beautiful park!
Outside of WestminsterOutside of Westminster
Outside of Westminster

the building to the left is one of the oldest in England and the one to the right is the private school where Helen Bohnam Carter went...Tim Burton's wife
Inside of WestminsterInside of Westminster
Inside of Westminster

this dark hall surrounds the cloister
CloisterCloister
Cloister

the cloister is the open space/yard inside the Abbey


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb