Brighton Bubbly!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
January 1st 2006
Published: January 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so perhaps not the most exotic of locations, but memories of the cool sea breeze sweeping off the sea front is sufficiently scrumptious for me to write a travel entry.

.."sunshine through my window, that's what you are... my shining star" was an apt track to be playing in the car as we drove from London to Brighton. Although unfortunately for Anthony, it was my company and not Gabrielle's that had to be endured the length of the motorway! There was lots of traffic for a new year's eve, but, as ever, I had plenty to keep us entertained! So, upon arriving into Brighton and finding the hotel as well as parking (an equally arduous task) - we were ready. For what? Well, whatever Brighton had to offer. And offer it did. We soon found ourselves in the midst of a wonderfully warm and exuberant party, with the friendliest of staff and even friendlier locals. Impressively, I finished a three course meal, and lots of alcohol... as the photos may tell! Some hours, and lots of laughter later, we stepped out into... rain. Lots of it. Downpour in fact. Mmmm, yum! The soothing sound of heavy downpour beating on
blown awayblown awayblown away

by it all
the street, and the trickling of water down the sloping street was gorgeously refreshing, and, I was more than happy to head to the hotel on foot. Wet, yet wondefully alive, we opened a bottle of champagne to continue the incoming of the new year, and also the ending of the last - which had been.... really something. Anyhow, I digress. The champagne finished in the early hours of the morning... alas... the conversation did not. It in fact, saw us through til morning. Deprived of sleep, we showered and went for a morning stroll along the seafront. The crisp sea breeze and the crunch of pebbles beneath my feet was... intoxicating. I was silent, as I revelled in the magnificence of the morning. The sun illuminating Brighton's white buildings on one side, with the threatingly dark clouds shading the sky on the other. Perfect.

Walks through The Lanes were extremely pretty and I would have enjoyed the Pier just as much, had my ears and hands not turned into moving blocks of ice by that time! As the first specks of rain began to drop, we headed back to the warm car and sped silently back to London. I was quiet. And content. No Gabrielle this time - no, instead Savage Garden sang "to the moon and back"... we might as well've been! The happiness was only to heighten as Ant spoiled me further by taking a detour en route home via Richmond Park (hence the photos of deer)... wow. The vast green space and wildlife in the centre of a city is something to be savoured. After further driving around, we met up with our baking-buddy Aleem at Le Pain Quotidien for yes.. more bread. No photos this time - there were plenty in the Paris blog! If you ever visit, the fresh lime juice is highly recommended - this served a dual purpose of quenching my thirst and keeping me awake!

If I recall correctly, the evening was wonderfully relaxing, movies and the couch - the perfect combination.. (oh, and of course, my company)! But.. those are all stories to be saved for my personal blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

richmond parkrichmond park
richmond park

behind the camera lens.. is a huge grin!
colourful combinationscolourful combinations
colourful combinations

(not just the company)!
a warm baileys coffee...a warm baileys coffee...
a warm baileys coffee...

... enough said.


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb