My Arrival


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
September 18th 2008
Published: October 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'M FINALLY IN ENGLAND!!

The flight from Nashville was good, though 7 hours long. I sat beside an old man with the most lovely British accent and kind, smiling eyes. He was funny in that British-humor sort of way. We chatted quite a bit about England and the States. He was now a resident of some obscure state like Wyoming. When night fell, he moved to the empty row in front of us so I could lie down across the seats. He joked, "It's been quite some time since I slept next to a young lady." The combination of his voice, his eyes, and his accent was so hypnotizing, I thought that if he was younger...

I slept for probably 4 hours. Upon waking up, I saw on the plane's TV monitor that we were over Ireland. I looked out the window, straining my eyes to see through the clouds, trying to see the famous rolling green hills of Ireland. I saw only the white silk of clouds.

I waited at Heathrow Airport for 2 hours for Samantha from the agency to pick me up. I thought about my father's fear: that I would be kidnapped from the airport and sold into sexual slavery in Bangkok. I looked around suspiciously at the strangers impatiently holding signs with other people's names, wondering if the person holding my name would look like a kidnapper. Samantha finally showed, and when I arrived at her car, I saw that she had picked up 2 other people--a young Canadian couple. The Canadian girl had been hired by the same agency as a "supply teacher", or a substitute. I was like, "Canada! Right on, I love Canada! Great uhh........ ... Love Canada, man!" (It was actually a joke, but no one laughed.)

After the Canadians were dropped off in Essex, which is East London, I was taken to my temporary place of residence, the Hardware Bed & Breakfast in Luton, Bedfordshire. I remembered calling the B&B from the States to make my reservation. The phone number listed was apparently the owner's cell phone, and he was very informal about the whole thing. He said it was 20 pounds per night, and he didn't take a credit card number or even my last name. My first name was enough to reserve my room. Samantha said he sounded "rather dodgey." But upon arriving, I learned that Dave, the owner is just a really friendly guy with an informal B&B. The place was small, but clean. I had a room with 2 twin beds all to myself. He said I can stay as long as I like, and there was no official check-in or check-out time. One meal is included in the price, and I can either have breakfast or supper from the cafe downstairs (apparently, he owns that, too). He gave me a key and took no credit card info from me; he just said that he asks people to pay when they leave and he's never had a problem with that. I don't have a problem with it, either. 😊

Luton is...interesting. Population of about 250,000. But it's laid-out like a bigger city. Very compact with busses and walkers on the sidewalks and very few parking lots. All the buildings look so old, run-down. The town is also very ethnically diverse: few whites, mostly blacks, Indians, Arabs, Asians, Pakistanis, etc. Bedfordshire is the most diverse county in all of England. I like diversity.

Yesterday, I walked to the "town centre", or downtown. I love all the shops and restaurants. The mall is really nice and the whole area around it. In front, there's a large, brick pedestrian square where people hang out and eat or talk. I found an internet cafe where I emailed Mom and Dad. I also bought a SIM card for T-Mobile at the convenience store across the street from my B&B.

I like it here at the B&B, but I need to find a place to live! I think I want something in the town centre. Or maybe I should get closer to work, which is to the west of the city. (God, I haven't even talked to my school yet!) Or maybe I should get closer to the train line that goes down into London.

LONDON. I haven't even seen London yet. Already I feel too far from the city. I wanted to live IN London. I feel the same way now as I did in Murfreesboro when I was always wishing I lived in Nashville. If I had stayed in Middle Tennessee, I would have moved into Nashville. Likewise, if I stay in England, I'll move to London. Even if I do have to have a roommate.

On that note, it's not uncommon here for strangers to rent a house to share. It divides the bills and the council tax. Don't even ask me what council tax is. All I know is that it's based on where you live and maybe on the value of your house.) I'd love to have my own flat, but it might be double the price of a house share. Plus a house share would help me meet people. But what if they irritate me? And since living with Rebekah, I've missed the odd habits I acquired when I spent the first year after my divorce living alone. I like my odd kitchen habits. And I don't want to share a bathroom. But if I can save money for travel by sharing a house, that'd be excellent.

I need an address ASAP so I can open a bank account. After I have a bank account, I can get a new cell phone and a contract. Right now, I'm doing pay-as-you-go, and it's really expensive.

TO DO LIST FOR TODAY:
*"Top-up" minutes on my phone.
*Email phone number to the agency, my school, and parents.
*Look for a place to live.
*Buy map of Luton and get bus routes info.
*Map of London.
*Maybe buy hairdryer with diffuser and iron for clothes.

After I find a place to live:
*Bank #1
*Cell phone #2
*Gym membership
*Place of worship

I LOVE EUROPE!! 😊



Advertisement



Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0896s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb