Notting Hill Carnival


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
August 24th 2008
Published: September 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This was a full on fun day. Action packed and full of people in all directions.
The carnival celebrates London's Carribbean Community and is completely vibrant!

Although the origins of the carnival werent entirely as peaceful or fun as it is these days. it seems thats largely been forgotten.

Point of advice - if going take a water bottle and a bag with a zip to be careful of pickpockets...


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



19th September 2008

Colourful
That must have been a great day, what colourful costumes. And yeah, I hadn't even considered that there could be pickpockets in the crowd. Good advice, hah, if I'd been there I probably would have lost everything cos my bag doesn't zip up. Yikes.
20th September 2008

Indeed indeed
I admit I was a bit nervous - 800,000 people - thats a shit load. And they have had people murdered at the carnival before - stabbings etc...usually gang related etc but I was still not sure...so I had my bag all shut up and in front of me - and I was very close to where a mob of policemen had set themselves up...I left before it got dark and the trouble started....not taking any chances - here alone it would be days before anyone noticed something had happened to me...

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb