London, Day 1


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

London! 004London! 004London! 004

Platform 9 3/4, what a great place to be on Harry Potter's Birthday!
Friday, 8/01
Good morning everyone!
Its 5:19am right now, I'm up because I can't sleep (despite being ridiculously tired... how un-Alex!) My cab driver is picking me up at 6am to take me to the airport super early (his idea) so I will probably grab breakfast there, and sit around until my flight. Yesterday I got a chance to look around London, and it was an interesting adventure. I arrived at Heathrow exhausted, and I could barely find my way out the door. The cab guys were REALLY nice and helped me locate my hostel (because I stupidly forgot to jot down the address). I got to the hostel, but my room wasn't ready, so I threw my stuff in the luggage room and got my hop-on hop-off ticket. The guy at the hostel desk made the directions sound really easy to get to the closest stop, but I felt like I was doing laps around London before I found it (my GPS needs an actual address to point me in the right direction). Even more exhausted, I did my loop around the city and never managed to muster up the energy to hop off anywhere. I have some good pictures,
London! 005London! 005London! 005

King's Cross Station
and some forgettable ones. I didn't get a good angle for Buckingham Palace, and something else that was important. I finished up the tour and decided to get lunch and check into my hostel. After a shower, I headed out towards King's Cross to have my much-needed Harry Potter photoshoot. Then I went back to the London Eye to meet up with Julianne. We decided to have dinner at what she called a "traditional British pub". I had fish and chips (with mushy peas) and a banana bread flavored beer. After one last view of the city (which is beautiful when lit up at night!) I jumped in a cab and went back to the hostel. I tried to sleep, but I was too nervous about not hearing my alarm and couldn't stay asleep. At 4:15am I got out of bed, packed up and went to the lobby to start the first half of this post and check-in for my Vienna flight. At Heathrow, I found one of the guys from the program, so from there on out I was with Davis people and on my way to Vienna. London was a really neat city, and I wish I had
London! 013London! 013London! 013

this building looked familiar from the second movie
more time to explore it. I'm glad I made the stop, despite being too tired to try very hard. Until next time... Cheerio!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

London! 036London! 036
London! 036

the London Eye


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb