London Calling


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
July 5th 2008
Published: July 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I have been in London for the last four days. What!? Que paso?

I am learning that the blessing of being a traveler is that, since you have dropped everything from a 'real' life, you thus have complete freedom to be spontaneous. This means that you may have plans, but there will be many surprises thrown at you that the only way to handle them is to embrace them.

I met my dad and Marie in London for a lil' reunion and urban exploration. A very luxurious retreat after farm life, we have gone to both Tates, the Globe, the Kew Gardens, done lots of walking, saw a few plays, and gorged on delicious food. Our last supper here was true brit, fish & chips at a pub. Many moments in the day I have to remind myself where I am. I feel like I am just floating though these unbelievable different environments and experiences. I can't believe that three days ago I was living in a spanish casita on a finca and am now being pampered, the most delicious king size bed and tub, in the heart of london. Being with family again is also both comforting and adds to the disillusionment. One thing I am learning is how it really doesn;t matter where you are, but rather you find yourself and are able to meet your loved ones in the most unusual places. It has been wonderful exploring a new city with family.


Tomorrow I am taking a train to north west england to stay with a family and work on a self-sustaining building project. There are a bunch of other wwooffers and we live in a tipi. Because of shengen regultaions, I can only be in the Eu for 90 days. So i have decided to spend a few months in the UK and then follow the sun and go to spain again in late summer.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb