England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
August 6th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So with Laura off in Korea I spent 2 1/2 weeks exploring England on my own. I started in Ambleside, in the Lake District, where I finally got several days of sunshine!!! I hadn't had much since leaving the U.S . & it was a VERY welcome change. I went on several amazing hikes - all with idyllic views - I didn't really know what the travel book meant by idyllic scenery until I saw this area. The hills, mountains, lakes & waterfalls seem beautifully landscaped even though they aren't. My favorite was a hike which took me back down through the Easedale Tarn - for those of you poetry buffs I think Woodsworth writes about it in some of his poetry.

I also spent several days in York where I took walking tours of the city with it's historic roman & viking architecture. The York Minister was of course the highlight of the time in York. The minister as we see it today was finished in the late 1400's even though there was a church on the site since 627. It is absolutely beautiful but obviously wasn't built using AutoCAD because as 2 of the wings were built in towards each other they didn't quite meet dead center so the engineers & masons had to force the arches of the 2 ceilings to meet slightly off center. I also walked the 275 steps up the minister tower to look down on the the minister & the surrounding country side. It was really foggy out, so I couldn't see much, but still enjoyed being able to see the details of the minister up close.

The last 4 days in England were spent in London. I don't always love huge cities but London was amazing. I loved the diversity & people swarming everywhere. I spent my time doing a lot of the usual touristy stuff: Parliament building, Big Ben, Westminster Abby, The Palace & changing of the guards ceremony, Hyde Park, etc. I had a great time there & also enjoyed just sitting in a cafe & reading/people watching.

Sorry no pictures of England, since Laura had the camera.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0738s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb