Literature class... yoga class... class class


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
October 22nd 2004
Published: October 22nd 2004
Edit Blog Post

Classes are going well. It seems that my literature teacher is ecstatic at the chance of having an American in her class, for she asks me about it at least three times each class. Last week, I had to answer many questions regarding Flannery O'Connor, a Southeastern U.S. writer. It's always interesting to study O'Connor with non-"southerners" because they don't seem to understand the characters as well. I tried to explain two of her stories to the class, but had no converts. It was great to study James Joyce, a Dubliner, with English/Irish people. They seemed to understand the use of language much more than when I studied him in America and I have a deeper appreciation for his writing now. I did have a breakthrough in my character for my short story; it will be the tale of a girl realizing her youth amongst a life of decay.
Last weekend, I went swimming at an indoor pool. It was great and relaxing. They don't seem to care about anyone diving in at any point, a big difference to the extremely uptight lifeguards in the U.S.. In fact, everything here is a little less uptight. The obsession with buying clothing and
South StreetSouth StreetSouth Street

The first turn on the way to school
goods is the same, if not worse, but it is no shock to sit for hours in class with nothing to do but sit.
Usually, these boring periods turn to American quiz time. The other day, I explained "flipping the bird," "keg parties," gun usage in America (again), and more. It seems that they place themselves at a higher level than Americans, but talk about them more than Americans mention any country. From these friends, I learned that apple cobbler is "apple crumble," and that mincemeat is in fact fruit. Dinner is called "tea" here. My friend also invited me to an early Christmas pudding. These are very famous and served on Christmas day in every family. It consisted of lots of nuts and raisins and other fruits, and also brandy and a spongelike cakey substance. It was served with cream, very heavy and delicious!
I am walking to and from school almost every day and enjoy it thoroughly. It's quite a distance. I travel over hills, past flower shops that smell like rich girls' tree houses, beside strong stone walls and ivy, and past beautiful rolling hills with sheep. The walk always has an aroma of evergreen and autumn
A scary roundaboutA scary roundaboutA scary roundabout

I'm getting better at these
leaves.
Yoga classes are marvelous. I go every day but Wednesday, Saturday, and Sunday and am loving every class. It's the best form of exersize I've ever found; I knew it was for me when we "hugged the earth."
I have just finalized plans to go to Amsterdam on the 11th of November with Jason Boone. It will be "the dog's bollocks" as they say. (spelling?!)
The weather here is cold, windy, and constantly rainy, enough to make any girl listen to Morissey.
Now it is the weekend and I will write my literature essay... hopefully.
namaste


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Almost to the big hillAlmost to the big hill
Almost to the big hill

After that, it's easy


Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb