Go on ... just try a half


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
March 25th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Paraphernalia Paraphernalia Paraphernalia

note the finish time....
Of late, a number of people have been encouraging me to try a half and, on 25 March, I headed to Reading and did just that. Was a much better experience than I thought, and I reckon I might give it a go again.

Of course, I am talking about a half marathon. It is the furthest I have ever run in my life! Had been doing some training beforehand, and had been talking up my sub 2 hour finish, but was really not sure about my ability to follow through.

Managed to finish in 1 hour and 58 mins - so was pretty happy with that. Was definitely assisted by the flat course and good weather conditions, although the wind which I was so grateful for during the run was a bit chilly at the end (thank goodness for the space balnkets they handed out which, although noisy, kept us warm ... just like they are supposed to!

I have been training with Trav, who will shortly be running the London Marathon. Really impressed with that - at the end of the half, certainly did not feel like I could turn around and do it all again. Not sure I am cut out for a marathon but might give the half another go - once the blisters on my toes heal of course!




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

We did it!!!We did it!!!
We did it!!!

And have the medals to prove it.


Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 83; dbt: 0.1119s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb