London to Walsingham Day 3


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
December 10th 2023
Published: December 10th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Leaving Ware the walk today was different from the off. Riverside paths being replaced by footpaths over open fields, alongside hedgerows bursting with the colours of spring, crossing a few streams thankfully by well maintained bridges and also for a while following the trackbed of a disused railway line.
After a couple of hours I stopped for a break in the porch of Widford church, thankful for the shade. Here I learnt that the style of spire on this church and a few others that I had seen is known as a Hertfordshire Spike, a style seen on many churches throughout the county. The more that I learn about British churches the more they fascinate me.
Leaving the church I dropped down into the River Ash valley, following it for a while before heading through woodlands carpeted with bluebells. This was a treat as I had only come back into the country after 8 months away a few days before starting this walk, and thought that I had missed out on seeing them this year.
After the village of Much Haddon I left the Ash Valley behind and more field paths led me eventually to the edge of Bishop Stortford.
So far my written directions had been easily translatable to follow on an OS map, but getting through the town proved a bit more difficult. Eventually after a frustrating 30 minutes or so I got myself back on track and following the River Stort away from the town.
The last few miles were spent mainly in woodland, skirting around the edge of Stansted Mountfitchet and on to Elsenham.
Another 20 miles were ticked off on this lovely rural stage and I was hoping that this would set the tone for the rest of the walk.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement





Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb