Day 3 - Oxford


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
August 4th 2019
Published: August 5th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Please note I have attempted to re-enter some photographs on Day 2, hopefully it worked.

Well our excursions to Stonehenge and Oxford were cancelled due to not enough people signed up, so we have a whole free day (8/3/2019) to explore on our own.

I decided that I really wanted to visit Oxford and developed a plan. So this morning I stopped at Mark & Spencer's shop near the hotel to get some water for the trip. Surprise the water is from a spring in Scotland. After getting a famous London cab, I am off to Paddington Station to catch the train to Oxford which takes about an hour. The train ride is very comfortable and I sat next to a woman from Hong Kong. She was traveling to Oxford for her son's graduation and would be attending the gala ball in the evening. I arrive and quickly find a cab to take into the town. Just as we turn out of the station, what do I see - Dominos Pizza, unbelievable. Granted you are running into McDonalds, Burger King, Five Guys and KFC everywhere in London, but Dominos?

The town of Oxford is like most university towns, very similar to Ann Arbor. On the majority of the buildings are very traditional and remind me of the Law Quad at U of M. However very much like the rest of England, you find modern structures right next to the old. It is very busy, not only townspeople and tourists but the graduating students in their caps and gowns but their families. Due to the graduations, I was unable to visit the one library, but since this is a scouting trip for future visits I am plan to pay a visit in the future. I spend the day wondering around the town and having a most enjoyable lunch of beef pie and a local pub. I met up with the cab at a designated spot and was returned to the train station. I almost stopped to pick up a pizza from Dominos for the ride back to London. Having spend the majority of the day in Oxford, I was not able to make it to the British Library on the way back to the hotel. It was a most enjoyable day and I felt very comfortable having been a big fan of the Inspector Morse series since it first was broadcasted on PBS.

Hope everyone is doing well. Take Care.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb