Day 12 Tewkesbury to Kempsey


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Worcestershire
July 11th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Map Day 12


River SevernRiver SevernRiver Severn

Turning North for home!

Tuesday 11th July


This morning Sasha dropped me off back in Tewkesbury and I finally turned the corner in my trip and started heading north along the Severn. Beautiful scenery by the river and I tried doing a bit of thinking about what to do next with my life… the best thought I had was to become a stonemason. The reason for this was I had walked past some chaps earlier that were chiselling out some stone around a church and it looked like interesting work! But not really anything more constructive came to mind.


The day heated up a little bit and I took the first chance I have had on this walk to have a pub lunch… ham, eggs and chips went down very well but I think it may have made me a bit lethargic in the afternoon. The corn fly’s were out with a vengeance and that coupled with the smell as I walked through a field of spring onions bought back the summer Hannah, Sonia and I had washed and packed spring onions for my Dad… we smelt fantastic all summer!
I finished in Kempsey about 4 miles south of Worcester and as requested by Andrew put a pile of stones were I stopped so I could be sure of where to start again next week.




Todays Stats
Start Time - 8:00am
End Time - 4:00pm
Miles today - 12.60 miles
Miles Cumulative - 113.28 miles
Steps Today - 20,414
Steps Cumulative - 229,467
Blisters - 6
Chocolate/Granary Bars - 1
Rain - None
Temp @ Noon - 22c



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Severn WaySevern Way
Severn Way

I'll follow this all the way to Telford about 60 miles north.
Spring OnionsSpring Onions
Spring Onions

Fields and fields of them... the smell reminded me of one summer in the 1980's!
Corn Fly'sCorn Fly's
Corn Fly's

... or STORM BUGS!!!
Upton on Severn viewUpton on Severn view
Upton on Severn view

Nice place for a day out... old town to walk round and pubs by the river for lunch.
Phase 1 End PointPhase 1 End Point
Phase 1 End Point

This is to mark where I walked to in Kempsey and where I will start again next week!


Tot: 0.36s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb