Back again


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Worcestershire » Malvern
March 23rd 2012
Published: March 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well, apologies for the silence. What can I say. I had just started getting in to my blogging, when we had a minor family crisis to deal with. This coupled with a dose of flu put me out of the game for about 10 days. Since then it's been busy busy busy with work and training.

So, where to start. My first ride out after the interuption saw me cycle a paltry 10 miles, coughing my lungs up most of the way, but at least I was out and about.

I then managed 15 miles a couple of days later and started to feel a tad better. These were fairly gentle rides, giving my chest a chance to clear and avoiding the Malvern hills :-)

I then went out for a longer ride on the Saturday and SUnday mornings last weekend and started to feel much better. Good long rides in the spring sunshine helped to clear the lungs.

Monday this week saw me start back with my personal trainer in Cheshire. Hoping for a bit of sympathy, but really expecting none. Guess what, I got none. 60 minutes of intense 1:1 training in the gym alternating from the spinning bike to an ever increasing range of exercises, mostly concentrating on my lower body or cardio.

I then managed an hour or so up the Malverns on Tuesday evening (enjoying these light evenings at long last). That was fun and I even threw in an attempt up Old Wych Road!! Not one to be taken lightly :-)

Wednesday morning saw me back in Cheshire in the Gym with Greg for Kettle Bell Hell, which left my shoulders and neck aching. This was followed up by a cardio blast on the rower. 950 kcal later I staggered out of the gym and back to my desk.

I took Thursday as my rest day this week, think I've earned it having burnt around 5000kcal in 6 days :-)

I'm going out again now and am determined to get to the top of Old Wych Road and tehn enjoy an evening cycling around the Malverns in the sunset.

I've got a mere 6 weeks to go before my bug event and my energy levels are back up high after my bout of flu. I have also been inspired by John Bishop's little jaunt between Paris and London last week for Sport Relief! If you haven't seen it, watch it on BBC iPlayer. Amazing guy, what a hero and he raised £1.6 million!! That says alot about him and a huge amount about the generosity of the people of this country of ours. Well done to John! Now if I can come close to £1.6 million I'd be happy :-) Hell, I'd be happy with £1.6 thousand :-).

So if anyone is reading these posts, please don't forget you can donate at www.globalgiving.org/dy/fundraiser/prevfund/gg.html?regid=6741. Please help me make a difference also.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb