5am start for early morning session with Personal trainer


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cheshire » Knutsford
March 2nd 2012
Published: March 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Early start this morning to head to the office in Cheshire for a morning sessoin of Matrix Training with my personal trainer.

My legs were still feeling the effects of yesterdays 50 miles around the West Midlands, but Greg had zero sympathy :-) Just how it should be. Given that my week was impacted by travel and other comittments, I needed a good workout today as my next would be a few days away.

If you've never heard of Matrix training, let me explain. You have a set of exercises and aim to cover as many as possible. You start with 10 reps of the first exercise, followed by a 10 sec break. You then do the 1st 10, followed by a second exercise of 11 reps, followed by a short break. This is then followed by the 1st 10, 2nd 11 and a third of 12 reps and so on and so on until you can't do much more. To add a little "bonus" to the piece, Greg threw in a 30 second sprint on a spinner in between sets (increasing this by 5 seconds every 2 sets).

Suffice to say I managed to get to 15 reps and around about 50 second sprints in 45 minutes. Knackered! Just a little :-) I find these types of workout are best for me at the moment because they mix things up, keep me interested and keep me focused on pushing hard building up my lactic acid tolerences.

Out on the bike over the weekend and then stepping things up next week after this fairly gentle week. never hurts to have a rest once in a while, but I want to get more miles under my belt over the next couple of weeks and keep pushing hard.

I've opened up the sponsorship site and starting mailing people looking for support. If you read this and are able to support I would be eternally greatful. I don't mind if your support is financial, emotional or simply by passing on the message to your friends, everything helps to pass the news on and broaden the exposure of this event as far as possible.

Many thanks for your support.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb