The Start


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire
December 6th 2014
Published: December 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

And so it begins.....



I found out last night I will officially, 100%!,(MISSING) definitely definitely be studying for 4 months abroad next year. Considering its already December its pretty daunting stuff. I have around 6 weeks to prepare and arrange everything. I am the most unorganised person ever so this may be the biggest challenge of the entire adventure.



We had an Erasmus meeting at uni last week, where we were told information regarding housing, finance, contracts etc. I still hadn't been confirmed at that point, so didn't write down as much as I probably should have. So here's to winging it. I have written myself a to-do list and this weekend I aim to make a bloody good start. This christmas holiday will by far be the most stressful of my life yet; I have a deadline after Christmas (not prepared at all), student finance to sort, waitressing to attempt a saving fund (haven't done any saving yet) oh, and moving my entire life to another country. Side note: I need a suitcase.

As far as I can tell, I am the ONLY Bristol UWE student going to Antwerp, talk about being thrown in at the deep end. Luckily, a friend has an old uni friend living there who he is going to put me in touch with. Said friend moved to the city after doing an exchange program, which is very reassuring! Knowing anyone would be comforting in those first few, fragile weeks. Accommodation is something I am attempting to look into, but I have no idea where to start. Reading blogs etc is helping, but I have so much to do that unfortunately, staring at my laptop for hours on end will not help me pass the first half on my degree. Im hoping this new acquaintance can help me suss out areas and potential living spaces.

I could write for hours about the stresses and endless documents that will take up my life for the next few weeks, but unfortunately I have more important things to try and figure out. My new adventure starts now; trying to be more organised, attempting to understand money, being a more 'cultured' person and having the time of my life. I have been told by a close friend that this trip will "make" me. Lets hope it doesn't break me.

peace xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb