Dorset, Wiltshire and Somerset, July


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire
August 4th 2018
Published: August 4th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Larmer Tree

Larmer tree
The festival was from Thursday 19th till Sunday 22nd July, I was there for a week, giving me four extra days of an empty field, a view, the shade of a beech tree, and nearby woods.
The festival was slightly different this year; more bands I hadn't heard of, fewer workshops and strolling players, more of the woods open.
I did two Gong Bath sessions (no water, just lying on the ground under a canopy of trees, immersing oneself in the sound of the gongs and other percussive instruments). I was outside the tent (I'm always late for these things) so didn't get the full vibratory experience, but the sound drifted me off to the cacophony of traffic, a steam train, and a plane taking off, as well as the usual whale sounds and trickling water.
My shifts were Meet and Greet at the gate, ranging from 8.30 am to 11.30pm. Four hour shifts each day with the same people mean you get their potted life history, and life experiences.
There were some good bands that were recommended by the musical friend of my fellow camper.

Wednesday morning my fellow camper went west to another festival, I went north east and spent two nights in Wiltshire, between Devizes and Trowbridge. I having problems with technology, my satnav had sent me in various erroneous directions and my sound system is playing up, and me playing with it had probably buggered it. I had the radio on my phone but after I left Man with the Van I could no longer tune in Radio 4, so I managed with BBC Radio Somerset. Chatty and parochial, and with great music, I could sing along to most of it.
The terrain is all golden fields in Somerset, Dorset and Wiltshire, most of the crops have been cut already, and the fields that haven't seem stunted and small eared.
I love the outdoor life. A pony came to pet in the van when I had lunch in the New Forest, and in Wiltshire a hedgehog came to munch on an apple core that the previous occupant of my patch in the Camping and Caravanning Club site had left. It was the only live hedgehog I saw.
I've been driving through the Tory heartlands , and my last night for this trip I'm just south of the Surrey Hills. The field behind an unpretentious pub, which I lay went to about four years ago is more of a proper campsite now with fine dining and burger and chips for £11. These last three days I've spent £105 on campsites and evening meals, the first nine days I spent £16.
My last day, Saturday 28th, as I couldn't face the M3 or the A303, I drove across the south on the A272 to Kent. It seemed very green, with more trees, perhaps it was because it had rained. At Herne Bay Crista and I swam in the sea. It was choppy, and the wind strong, so we didn't stay on our feet long, but the water was beautifully warm.

I couldn't get the Internet on my tablet, so am late with posting this. After a few days at home, I'm now in Yorkshire, but will post that later.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0947s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb