Bike trip to Cheddar Gorge


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire » Lacock
August 28th 2007
Published: August 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A bank (public) holiday yesterday and James suggested to go to Cheddar Gorge on his motorbike - a new yamaha R1 that he is soooooo proud of. This perhaps was just my third bike trip on the R1. Though until last year I was a novice as far as superbikes were concerned - now I am always happy to be a pillion and go places! It gives you a sense of freedom and for me as a pillion - lots of thinking time and the freedom to enjoy the scenery. Everytime that I am on the bike, I seem to spot things that I haven't seen before even if I might have passed by the same area several other times in the car.

The trip from Melksham (near Lacock) to Cheddar took about 90 mins. The roads were busy as there were lots of holidaymakers around. We had a drink at a local pub overlooking the gorge and then wander around the local cheese shops for some tasting. The mango/ginger flavoured cheese was delicious so we bought some for later. The shops closed at 6pm and suddenly tourists seemed to have dissappeared. It was time for us as well to return - esp as it was getting a bit cold. We rode through the gorge with some amazing views of the rocky hills and the wild goats. The caves in the gorge are really worth visiting - though no time to do this yesterday, I visited the caves before and they are huge!

I wish I had taken some pictures, but did not have my camera with me or even my mobile. A lesson learned for next time!














Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb