June 24th: Whole lotta Leeds


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Yorkshire » Leeds
July 2nd 2012
Published: July 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

My Old HoodMy Old HoodMy Old Hood

Greenwood Mount
June 24th: Wishes DO come true! The weather is gorgeous today and I've been all around Leeds. It has been a day of smells, that lovely post rain smell.... to sort of quote Outkast it's just "so fresh, so clean" being that Leeds is a University city there is also the smell of Saturday night's vomit congealing on the footpath, but being a SUNNY Sunday there is also the welcome aroma of BBQ, hmmm.

Got the Newcastle to Edinburgh train booked at Leeds Station and wandered off to ramble around Leeds Uni, Hyde Park, Meanwood park and my old 'hood'.
I've been seeing a good bit of that 'northern hospitality' people being happy to stop and converse with me even though they don't know me.
I wandered back into town, taking more photos than most Leeds travellers would. I've noticed a LOT more CD & DVD stores, hopefully that's a sign that physical formats for music are facing extinction this year!
Went on to meet up with Kate & Pavan who I'd initially got talking to through a Mike Patton forum. It was that weird internet thing because we'd never met but it just felt natural to hang out, no sort of; "oh i thought you'd be taller" or whatever. We hung out for 3 hours or so and chatted about everything from music and education through to nazis and homeless.
After that we wandered up to Fab Cafe... I wish I could live in this place; old arcade table games for tables, movie and tv posters, memorabilia and models everywhere! You're greeted int eh entrance by Han Solo in carbonite and there seem to be Dr Who and Starwars references EVERYWHERE! Even the music is great; beatles, polyphonic spree, the star trek theme and various other tracks I don't recognise but they all sound good, all accompanied by a nice pint of Tetleys.

Did I mention that one wall has a giant Thundercats logo painted on it? Cos it does!

Got back to Emma's in time to see the end of the England vs Italy game in the Eurocup... which did not end well for the English I'm sad to say.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Han ol' buddyHan ol' buddy
Han ol' buddy

Mr Solo invites you to cool your drinks against him


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb