I'm setting off to Mumbai tomorrow!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Yorkshire » Leeds
March 27th 2009
Published: March 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post


Tomorrow i am heading to Mumbai, India. I have packed and repacked three times and i still feel as thought i am missing something.
I've already checked in online so am now fueled with adrenaline and raring to go.
I hope that while i am there i gain more self confidence in knowing that i am able to look after and succeed in a totally different culture.
So many people have told me different things about what to expect. I am keeping an open mind and expecting the worst. With the hope that things can then only be an improvement.
My biggest worry is what clothing to wear and being 'groped' in the streets. As silly as it sounds. i'm not sure how i will react to this but i am sure i will deal with it ok. it will definitely be an eye opener thats for sure! I am considering writing my dissertation on the representation of women in indian cinema (or something like this) so this first hand experience will hopefuly help! We shall deal with all of this as it comes i am sure!
With reguards to whistling woods i am very excited to use their equipment. it looks as if they have equipment that we don't have in our film school. For some reason i am really excited to learn how to use things such as Jib arms........ don't ask why. it must be my inner cinematographer breaking out!
I hope i will tantalise my tastebuds with exotic curries and get a real taste for the indian culture. Whilst i am there i would love to visit Agra and the Taj Mahal. And if i have enough time i would travel down to Goa and their amazing beaches! I am very excited to visit bollywood film sets. also to learn the hindi language as it has been a long time since i have learnt any other language.
2009 i decided was my year of 'doing' as opposed to 'considering' and this is definitely a once in a lifetime oppertunity that i am truely thankful for, to both my parents for supporting me financially and to the film school for creating this oppertunity.
I'm going to a country i don't know with a bunch of people i dont really know - i guess you could say i'm a bit nervous.
I've always wanted to go to india because it looks beautiful and colourful. But mainly because my granddad was sent there in the second world war and he always tells me tales of his adventures. He wanted to take my nanna back there at somepoint but unfortunately she died earlier this year. I hope she will be there with me in spirit and i will take hundreds of photos for my granddad to let him see how the country has changed. This is going to be amazing.'

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb