I Don’t Have a Map: The Plan


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Wolverhampton
January 1st 2012
Published: January 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

“Getting confused by local lamplight”




Contrary to the song title, I do have a map, or at least Google does. Just out of interest, I plugged in where our travels had taken us so far (and will do up to where we have planned so far), and the blue lines on the map show us exactly that. If we had travelled the whole lot in the car, we would have travelled 2,819 miles, so even if we imagine that some of the journeys were shortened by use of the train, we could have made it to the North Pole by now if we had just headed due north and kept going. It’s a long way.



Looking back is all very nice, but it won’t help us decide where we are going next, and nor will I. It’s not so much that I don’t have a map, more that I don’t want a map; for our penultimate journey I want some ideas from everyone else. As the routes are under semi-totalitarian rule I get the final say, but throw me some ideas, near, far, short stay, long stay, I don’t mind. Ideally, you could read the lyrics and take inspiration, but if you have a good idea, that is enough for me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb