Not packed yet?!?!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Solihull
April 17th 2008
Published: April 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So as the title would suggest, I am not packed yet. I spoke to Gem briefly on the phone yesterday and although she had just emptied the entrie contents of her bag on to her bedroom floor, she had at least put everything in there to start with. The sad truth is that I was in fact still shopping for stuff yesterday. Who would've thunk!!!!!

So, today - the last full day in England, in the UK, in Europe (I say this because excluding a brief 2 day excursion to Morocco in 2006, I have yet to leave the continent!!!!). We fly from Heathrow tomorrow (not terminal 5 - praise the lord) at 2pm in the afternoon, so I have until about 8am tomorrow, when my super organised, but fantastic and beautiful mother (I like to think that flattery will get me anywhere) drags us in to the car, to get sorted. No doubt when we're sitting in traffic for 2 hours but still manage to get there in time I will be eating some major humble pie, but we'll cross that bridge when we come to it!

At the tender age of 23, I thought travelling would be a good idea - no responsibilities, no hassle - just buy your ticket, pack your bag, and leave. Oh no! Student Loans, Inland Revenue, and my banks all have to be contacted to tell them I'm leaving the country, to which I get told forms will be sent to me (which they're not!!!) to complete! Car insurance needs to be cancelled, mobile phone sim cards changed (which dont work), cameras and mp3 players to be charged and sorted (which dont work). Its 10 past 8 in the morning, and I've already been up for an hour trying to get through some of the list of things to do today - so far I think I've managed one. The list is about 20 items long and some will be quite time consuming, like packing!!!!!!!!!

Suffice to say, I'm a wee bit stressed. Looking forward to my year long holiday though!

I just want to say a quick thanks to everyone at Arup for my card and leaving party - it meant a lot that I was made so welcome over a short period of time, even though I was "just a temp" 😊 (sorry but just had to say it one last time!)

Big thanks and hugs to the gang (Norridge Heath forever!) as well for coming on Saturday and last night. Going to miss you all lots. Take care of yourselves and I'll see you down the Red Lion for the pub quiz when I get back (who knows - I'll be worldly wise by then and may be able to answer like one whole question!!!!).

Finally, I dont think I can say it enough - just want to thank Mom and Dad for everything. Not wanting to get too mushy over the worldwide web or anything but I love you so much and am so grateful for everything you do for me (despite not always showing it!). I will miss you so much. Si - I know you'll miss me - I know you love me - so ditto! 😊

Right....I'm off to pack. All thats left to say is Ciao - see you in 365 days time!

Kx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb