Mid Week Back in England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Coventry
January 17th 2008
Published: January 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sooooooooooo, its been a great few days.

Mondays LOW: Spending money at the Co-Op.
Mondays HIGH: Top B and the craziness that ensued afterwards.

When I got up, Melissa was packing to move out for the week. Her room has this nasty black mold all over the walls from the damp from the chimney bursting. So the Uni is putting her up in an on-campus flat. I helped her back for a while and basically emptied her room. It really sux that this is the week she has to move out, but shes coming back for meals and to do everything but sleep, so it shouldnt be too bad. After that, I got ready and Chris showed me to the Co-Op (food shop) down the road. I got groceries for dinner and we headed back to the flat. After I beat Chris at tennis, I started to cook dinner. I made stuffed chicken with philidelphia, sun dried tomato and basil stuffing, some crazy potatoes and onions, and of course Yorkshire puddings and caramellized carrots. Yummmm. After dinner, Melissa went back to her room to get ready, Jonny and I washed and dried up, and then realized what time it was. I hurried to get ready. Jonny told us all that the bus was coming in like 5 mins and we all rushed around, and then he realized that he had looked at the wrong stop and so then we yelled at Jonny. I blame him for my poor looking bangs all night exposing my 8-head. Anyways, we all waited for the bus...freeeezing...and then after some crude window drawings, got to Uni. We met Melissa and queued for a while before getting in. It was just like old times!! The night was so much fun. We drank a lot. The purples were amazing! After the night of singing, dancing, drinking, and drunk fun, Melissa and I waited in the coat line while the boys played pool. Melissa headed back to her room and the guys and I caught a cab back to the house, taking pictures all the way home. Including "Custard Creme Face"s. I guess these were from the free cookies that the guys found on the way out of the union. When we got back, the fun only continued. I called Andrew and made him talk to all the guys, then I felt bad because I know I hate when people make me talk to their friends on the phone. Anyways, we played with popcorn (which ended up all over the kitchen) and then listened as Jonny serenaded us with the guitar. I taped basically the whole evening, so amusing. Eventually, everyone was ready to pass out.

Tuesdays LOW: Being hungovaaah.
Tuesdays HIGH: Delicious lunch.

Melissa and I had planned to go into city center Tuesday morning to do a little shopping. Well we didnt really think it out too much because I was hungover and she was feeling lathardgic because of the sugar high from the Cokes the night before. Plus, we were going to Birmingham on Wednesday anyways, so it was just kind of us wandering around, Melissa returning things, and we had a nice lunch. Those BBQ pork rolls are bangin. Anyways, eventually we headed back to the house where Melissa chilled for a bit before heading to Uni for class. I was really tired, so I chilled on the couch watching TV and dozing in and out of sleep while everyone slowly filtered in. I prepared Melissas Grandmas mystery meat pies (they really are good) and made some mash and veg to go along. After dinner, Melissa headed back to her flat, and the rest of the night we spent watching TV, playing tennis, and making fun of some southern American on "American Princess" (such an embarassing show.) Daniel shared his chocolate cake with cream with me, so delicious. Eventually everyone passed out. I forgot that I needed Jonnys (pink) hairdryer the next day, so I wrote a note for the bathroom and spent way too long drawing a cartoon for the boys to enjoy.

Wednesdays LOW: Not much, it was a really great day.
Wednesdays HIGH: Dinner conversations.

So this morning Melissa called to wake me up for our big day of shopping in Birmingham. I got ready and then went to bother Jonny in his room, where Daniel joined in and we chilled for a while, looking up university ratings, random, I know. Eventually Melissa got to the house and we headed out to Birmingham. Melissa decided to drive so it was nice because we didnt have to worry about crowds and getting to the train station. Some guys like beeped at us on the way and we trying to be all smooth, it was amusing. We parked next to the Bull Ring and headed in. I think its such a cool city, with neat architecture and scenery. Melissa and I shopped around for a while, had lunch where wed had it last spring, and then continued our shopping spree, stopping for Krispy Kremes on the way. I got a really awesome pair of dark jeans from MK One and Melissa bought me an adorable top from River Island (such an awesome store). Melissa went crazy and got: a t-shirt, 2 belts, skinny jeans and a wireless apple mouse. We had so much fun, it was a great day. Every store had huge post-holiday sales, but a lot of the stuff was plain. We saw a few really good stores, and a girl caught shop lifting on the way out of Topshop...amusing. One thing I noticed was that there are security guards in like every store. Theyre men who are dressed normally but with walkie talkies standing around looking all stiff. Why would anyone shoplift there? Oh, and I found out today that Birmingham is the second largest city in England with 1 million people, behind London (obvi) with 7 million people. Anyways, after Melissa and I critiqued all the stores, tried on these crazy pregnant looking dresses at F.C.U.K., we headed to campus to pick up her laptop and pick up Kevin. Melissas flat is really nice, its kind of like Claycroft but with an en suite bathroom and she gets fresh towels. But, her walk from anywhere, whether to main campus or to the car park, is like 25 minutes (that suckkksssss) cuz its in the middle of nowhere. We then went to pick up Kevin, the guy from UConn studying at Warwick this spring. I talked to him before he left and I invited him over for tea, so Melissa and I brought him back where we chilled and had dinner. Daniel cooked Bangers and Mash, SOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOD. I love those apple ones, theyre so delicious. Tea was actually hilarious, I was almost crying laughing at points but cant say why online, because Melissa would actually hurt me. Anyways, we all feasted on the Krispy Kremes (the ones that Melissa and I hadnt had in the car on the ride home). Then we hung out in the lounge and watched TV for a while before Jonny and I walked Kevin to the bus stop. Im so jealous of him, I would much rather be staying here until July rather than going home. Anyways, on the way back from the bus stop, this guy flagged us down to help him push his car to the corner because his battery had "gone flat." We helped him out, and then this guy came up in his car behind us and seemed to be some sort of mechanic. After he tried to tighten the battery, because I guess he use to have the same car with the same problem, we realized it wasnt working and just towed his car (with his little car) to where the guy needed to go. It was really nice of that man to just stop and help. Jonny and I have no idea what were doing with cars, we just smiled nodded and did the typical ambiguous responses to the situation. We got back to the house and we all just chilled in the lounge for the rest of the night. I cut up a mango that was perfectly ripe and offered it to the guys, but Jonny refused. Hes like afraid of fruit, haha. It was driving me nuts though because I really like for people to try new things. Daniel, Chris and I tried to convince him for at least 20 minutes and he still didnt. Anyways, Daniel finished his work, so we all watched TV and played setback. I totally rocked it! Woot! Everyone headed to bed and I talked to Daniel and Jonny a rare form of the "Downstairs Club" for a while, about our families. Mine won for most insane. I had plenty to say. Anyways, now Im in "my room" (the lounge) and should go to bed. Were planning on going to Evolve tomorrow night for a fun night of clubbing. Woohoo.

So, until tomorrow...
I love this place.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1012s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb