BACK IN ENGLAND!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Coventry
January 14th 2008
Published: January 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I am finally back in England!! Its now Sunday night, but Ill recap the last few days.

Thursdays LOW: Getting on the plane.
Thursdays HIGH: Being packing and actually leaving.
So Thursday I left to go back to England. I had a 9:25 plane from Newark to London, Heathrow. I took a train from New London at 3:18pm that was suppose to take until 6:42, but ended up taking almost an hour longer. I practically ran off the train because I was really afraid of missing my plane because a train, A TRAIN, couldnt get to Newark on time. Was there traffic? Did we get pulled over? Did someone MISS the train and we had to wait for them? NO! I still dont understand. Anyways, I got to Newark at about 7:25. I got stopped there for them to check my luggage, great, thanx. Then I found my way to the gate, and the plane was delayed for like 20 mins. So I sat in crazy anxious anticipation to get on the plane and get the flight over with. Oh how I hate flying. When I finally got on the plane I was sat next to an Indian man, who was really nice. We didnt really have much room though and I really wanted to get some sleep, so I talked to one of the flight stewards and he said I could go sit in an empty seat when we got into the air. Anyways, this man took that seat before the "keep your seatbelt on" sign unlit. Anyways, the flight wasnt too bad, but I didnt get any sleep and freaked out at every part of turbulence. But when we landed, I was so relieved and all I could do was smile. I went through customs and this man got angry because I didnt know the address of my flatmates house, he said I should know it because I had been there a few times. Right, thanx. Anyways, then I got my bags, exchanged my money (I was dumb and went to a place that took 6 pounds commission) and then found my way to the bus station. My bus left early (I might have taken the wrong one, but it got me to Victoria Station so whatev) and I got to Victoria about an hour and a half before my bus to Coventry. I lugged my things into the bathroom and washed my face so I didnt look like Id actually been hit by a plane. Then I chilled for a while and got on the bus. I ate a lunch of a Chicken Tikka sandwich and Ribena. Yummmm. The second I got out of the airport, I felt at home. I just felt this overwhelming sense of "this is where I belong". I felt like Id never left and it was just completely natural to be back. Anyways, OF COURSE, that bus took a long time too and after it took more than 3 hours (though it was suppose to take a little over 2 hours), but I finally got to Coventry Pool Meadow bus station.

Fridays LOW: Being on the plane.
Fridays HIGH: Seeing everyone for the first time in 6 months.
I could barely contain myself when I got off the coach. When I walked off I saw Jonny and Melissa and was so thrilled! 6 months and it was almost exactly the same as it had been before (without the tears thankfully). After we said our hellos, we went back to the house. It was rainy and really gross out. Their house is really nice, Im jealous. It feels cozy. They all have their own rooms and theyre pretty big. Chris was at the house so I got to see him and Daniel was still at Uni so I had to wait till he got back. Christian was here too so that was cool. I was so extremely excited to see everyone, like overwhelmingly excited. I took a shower to wash the almost 24 hours of travel off and Melissa cooked dinner, beef stroganoff, yummmmmmm. For the rest of the night, we watched TV, played tennis, I had them open gifts and we played setback. Melissa and Daniel read some of my travel blog that I printed out (its 158 pages, CRAZY) and they enjoyed it, haha. Its soooooooooooooo good to be back. Eventually we all went to bed. Im staying in the lounge, which is the most privacy Ive had since I was here last...literally. Apparently Melissa has been planning out my bed situation for months, that makes me feel loved. We were originally going to go out but everyone was really tired from going out for Melissas birthday the day before, and I had been up for over a day.

Saturdays LOW: Spending money, booooo.
Saturdays HIGH: The crazy car rides.
The next morning we got up for 11am because people were coming to look at the house so that they could rent it next year if theyd like. We got up, they showed the house, and we headed to Leamington so they could sign a contract for a house to live in next year. Christian made me tea and some toast for breakfast. Now I cant think of very many American guys who would offer to prepare breakfast for his girlfriends friend. anyways, we squished in Melissas car, which was really amusing, and then to the housing place. They signed the contracts and I explored some places in Leamington. I got plug adaptors and a sim card (which cost L15 OUCH). When theyd finished with the contracts, we got back in the car and headed to the house theyll live in next year. We sat in the driveway feeling awkward waiting for the realitor to show up. They all thought the people would think we were creepy. Haha. Anyways, we finally decided to go in. The house was awesome. It was huge. Melissa took pictures and then we dropped Jonny off and went to Morrisons for groceries. I tried not to spend a lot of money, but I just wanted to buy everything because I obviously love everything English. I spent L16, and went to pay with my card and it was denied, not really sure why. So I went to the cash machine and took money out. We then came back to the house, I showered while people did work and then Melissa and I hung out in the lounge. The guys wanted to watch the football at the pub across the street (The Chestnut Tree), so I joined. I watched the game...and Christiano Ronaldo. This guy "chatted me up" while we were there. He was cute and English, whoaaaa...perfect. Ive been joking around about how I want to find a husband this week, so the guys were asking if he was husband material. He was really nice, but I think he was drunk, so I didnt really feel like trying to actually make something out of it. We eventually came back to the house, Man U won and Christiano got a hat trick, woooooot. After playing some tennis, Daniel, Jonny and I went to the chip shop and got kebabs. The walk was rainy, but fun. The food was awesome and cheap, definitely a plus. When we finished eating, we watched About a Boy and Catch Me If You Can. That was a quality movie. Then we played setback and everyone went to bed.

Sundays LOW: Realizing Id slept till 1pm.
Sundays HIGH: The delicious fondue.
This morning, I was woken by Melissa knocking on the door to tell me that there were people here to see the house unexepectantly. It was 1pm though, I should have been up. I layed in bed for a while and Melissa, Daniel and I watched friends. Eventually I took a shower and then made Tortellini for lunch, which Daniel found a bone in. Gross. We played tennis, chilled out, watched TV and then Chris made roast dinner. Delicious. Then we hung out for a while, and had a fondue, soooooo yummy. For the rest of the night we talked and played tennis in the lounge. We watched some of Phantom of the Opera and Sense and Sensibility. Thats one of the difference between my friends here and my American guy friends. These guys will watch a musical or some stereotypical girly show on their own, not caring about that stereotype. Its so refreshing. Eventually people got tired and headed to bed, and I just watched the 100 most annoying people of 2007, and some weird show about crazy kids who like to have sex with loads of people and now they have to take about it with their parents...crazy. Anyways, time for bed.

Until tomorrow...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb