Some of the best days...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Coventry
June 4th 2007
Published: June 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So quite a bit has happened in the past week or so.
Last Sunday I studied for the exam I had this past Saturday, I been stressing because with Livia there, I really wouldnt have much time to study, plus this stupid exam was worth 100% of the course grade (I do not like the way they do that here). Anyways, later that night, I asked Melissa to get some money out for me from the ATM, £150, or $300. I figure with Livia being here and all I would need quite a bit to get through the week. She gave it to me and I had in the kitchen for the rest of the evening. When I left I took my things with me to my room. About an hour later I realized I didnt remember where I put the money, which had my ATM card with it. I went back into the kitchen and it wasnt there, nor was it in my room. I figured someone had taken it as a joke or something and just went to bed hoping I would get it in the morning. I got up and cleaned my room and got it ready for Livia and then spent the day trying to study and then figure out where my money had gone. I asked just about everyone in the flat and no one had seen it. I was going crazy, especially bc it had my card with it, the only source I had for money. As I left to meet Livia, David finally emerged from his room, I asked him if he had seen it, then he looked in his room and found that he had it. He had brought money back with him after going home and thought that mine was his. I was sooooooo freaking relieved to get it back. After that I was really happy, and met Livia at the bus station. Her bus was late, so that sucked, but she got there, and I was beyond excited. We got back to the flat and hung out till dinner. She tried Strongbow, but only liked it with squash in it. After dinner Jonny and I washed up and then we all got ready to go to Top B. We had a shot of Absynth before leaving, woooo, that stuff tastes horrible. Top B was sooooo empty. I was so angry because it was really the only night out Livia would have on campus. Anyways, we all just hung out upstairs just joking around. At one point, Kobi and Jonny thought David was going to spill beer on them, and they tipped back in their chairs only to fall completely backwards in sync. It was hilarious. We could not stop laughing. Then Jonny was showing us how dumb the chairs were...and fell back again. Omg, my stomach hurt from laughing sooooo bad. Anyways, we just hung out for a while and then people started to filter in. It wasnt nearly as full as its been before, but we figured we would go dance anyways. Scatman played and Liv and I did the dance, it was awesome. Dave also broke the top of his beer bottle completely off when Kobi smashed it trying to fizz it up. Anyways, after Top B, we all walked back, the guys were like wrestling in the field and Dave was whipping people with a tree branch he took. We got back to the flat and Jonny and I finished washing up. Everyone was wasted and lying on the floor and being ridiculous. Daniel was hilarious, like posing for photos and stuff. We took a bunch of pictures, it was great. Eventually we all went to bed. That was like one of the best nights ever.
On Tuesday, Livia and got up and hung out, then eventually went to Tesco with a few people and got groceries to cook dinner. We cooked stir fry wearing our "The David" aprons. After dinner we played setback (so fun), and then stayed up to pack for London.
On Wednesday Kobi, Liv, and I got up early and went to the bus station to catch a 9:45 coach to London. Once in, we went to Kobis house and then went out for the day. We first went to this place called Ollies and got Fish and Chips, yummmmm, it was sooooo goood, but crazy filling. The weather was crap, but we went to see: Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, Trafalgar Square, some crazy guards on horses, and a few shops where I got a bunch of English/British stuff. We then headed back to Kobis to get ready because Livia had a couple friends in London we were gonna go out with. Kobis hot water heater was broken, so we had to go to his neighbors house to shower. They were these Italian guys who were really nice, but they were growing weed in the living room. Yikes. Anyways, Livia and I got ready and then went to meet her friend who works at the BBC. We were suppose to tour the BBC, but were late so just had to meet him. While we were waiting, we looking around the shops on Oxford street and then grabbed a glass of wine at this place called "All Bar One". We got overcharged, but it was just cool because it was the first time we were both of-age somewhere. We met up with BBC Peter, and then went to the underground to find somewhere to hang out. The other two guys we were suppose to meet up with didnt have phones, so we didnt think they would show any later than we were there. But when we were in the station, these guys just came up behind Liv, it freaked me out, but then they ended up being her friends from Maryland. So the five of us went around Covent Garden and found a pub where we just hung out and had a couple pints for a couple hours. Eventually we headed back to Kobis where he prepared the dinner his mom made for us, it was sooooo good. After that we passed out.
On Thursday, Liv and I got up and planned the day. We booked our London Eye tickets and then went into the city. The weather had brightened up from the rain the day before, which was really nice. The London Eye was really awesome, we took so many pictures. After that, we grabbed some ice cream and then went to meet Kobi at Parliament Square. He brought our bag in for us so we didnt have to go back to his house later, so we had to lug it around for the rest of the day. We then went to see the Tower Bridge, then Buckingham Palace. The walk was really long, but it was cool to see it. But Liv and I was mad because the guards in the red with the big black hats werent at the gates like we were hoping. After Buckingham Palace, we headed to the train station to get a late lunch at Yo!Sushi. We asked the waitress if there was a student discount and she said there was of 50%, but then when we went to leave, the man refused to give it to us because we didnt have the printed coupon from the internet. I was sooooo pissed. I wouldnt have gotten the $7 dish had I known that. Anyways, we then grabbed a couple things at the shops and went to catch the bus. I sliced my toe with my suitcase, so that was fun and bloody. We then got on the bus, which was suppose to take 2 hours and 20 minutes, but it took like 3 hours and 30 minutes. Miserable. It sucked, but at least I got some revision done on the way. We got back to the flat and were soooo tired. We hung out with everyone, had dinner, and then watched Peep Show.
We were gonna go to Stonehenge on Friday, but after spending so much money in London and being on the bus for so long the day before, we decided to bypass it and just hang out on campus. We went to to Tesco and got ingredients for an Italian lunch of Moz, Tomato, Basil, Bread, Salad, Melon and Parma Ham, it was delicious. Liv, Kobi, Jonny and I ate outside a took a bunch of pictures. For the rest of the day we just hung out, I revised and then we watched the last football game, England v. Brazil. They lost by one goal in the last minute. That sucked, but the game was just for fun, so it wasnt too bad. Later that night we played a bunch of card games, I won all of them, muah ha ha! But people had been taking the piss out of me the whole night, so I deserved it. Anyways, eventually we all retired and I stayed up revising for my exam until the early hours of the am.
Livia and I got up early so we could get her to the bus station to catch a coach to London and then flight back to the states. I walked her to the bus stop and we started to worry when we saw that a bus wasnt coming until it would be too late for Liv to catch her coach to London. I ran back to the flat to see if there was a different bus she could take, then grabbed cab money and got a phone number to call the cab. Luckily when I got back to the bus stop there was a bus heading toward where we could get the taxi, so we jumped on and then Livia and I had a really quick goodbye and she left. It really sucked that things didnt work out how they were suppose to, plus the cap cost me like $20, fun. Anyways, she got home ok, so thats good. I came back to the flat and revised for the rest of the day. Jonny was revising too, so we distracted each other during breaks, it made it easier. Eventually, I pulled myself together and went to take my exam. It wasnt as bad as I thought, but the format of actually taking the exam is so different than at UConn. The exams here are only held twice a day, at 9am and 2pm. Everyone waits outside of this huge room and you look at what number your seat is, and then go in at the assigned time. But its not just one class taking the exam, its a bunch of classes, and there are some people in there whos exams are 2 hours and some that are 3 hours. Its really different, but I dont really prefer either way. Anyways, the exam was easier than I thought it would be, but the teacher was misleading, so I could have studied a few topics really well instead of everything. Whatever, I really had to put things in priority with Liv being here and I knew that this wouldnt be my best class. I would have regretted spending as much time with Liv if I did nothing but studied when she was here. Well see what happens. After the exam, I came back to the flat and relaxed in the glory of being done. I took a shower, and then a bunch of us went to Tesco. When we got back, I made some lunch, and then Jonny and I booked our tickets to London for the 28. Hes going to see his friend there the same day Im leaving, so it will be really nice not to have to go to London alone and drag all my crap with me. Then we just hung out looking at our friends bands online and watching out-takes of his hilarious online videos. I then had this really big urge to go enjoy the outdoors, so Daniel, Jonny, David and I went for a walk. We found this mystery field, they guys were so excited bc it had football nets. I then went to show the guys this plant and when I reached in I touched a stinging nettle. I didnt know there was such a thing, but its this plant in the UK that actually stings you when you touch it. It hurt so bad and didnt stop till the next morning.
Yesterday I got up quite late, it was really nice to sleep in. Once up I just kinda hung around for the rest of day. I went outside to sit in the sun and talked to these two girls, one from America and one going to America next year. We watched the series finale of Shipwrecked, it was really good, plus Friends came on afterward. Eventually I made lunch and took a shower. Then I cooked dinner, I tried to make bangers and mash, it wasnt as good as when Daniel makes it, o well, I tried. After dinner we all just hung out, and eventually went to bed quite early.
This morning I got up around 10 and got ready while watching Friends, it was great. I then started to update my travel journal and have been trying to finish it all night. I went to the kitchen to make lunch and then hung out playing tennis and watching Neighbors. The cleaning people came in and saw that the cleaner hasnt been cleaning and this whiff of horrible smell came in after her. It smelled like really really really old person, and not the good kind, it was so bad. Anyways, I ended up beating Jonny in tennis, which is a big accomplishment for me. After I posted that I was better than him on facebook, he decided we needed a rematch. We played two more matches and I beat him in both, he got so mad. I did not like it, it ruined the win. Anyways, Daniel and I went to Tesco where I bought ingredients for burritos, nachos and potatoes for dinner. We came back and watched tv and then I cooked. I had to defend America's usage of "Hamburger" instead of "Minced Meat". That was not fun. I hate defending sayings Ive just grown up using, its just so discouraging. Besides that, those are the best times, just hanging out in the kitchen with everyone. Anyways, dinner was filling and after we all just sat around for a while, a bunch of us went for another walk. At one point Kobi started hissing and I thought it was a snake, it scared the crap out of me. Then when I started to get scared about the bats that were flying just over our heads, they all pretended they were on me, it was frightening. The campus is so beautiful, I never realized. From now on Im going to appreciate campus more. We stopped at Costcutters on the way out because the guys are out of toilet paper (the new cleaner doesnt clean). We then walked back to Claycroft where we hung out in the kitchen for a while and now Im here writing this before I go to bed in a little while.
Im starting to get really freaked out about going back to the states. Of course I miss people, but I really am going to miss my flatmates an unbelievable amount. I just dont know how Im going to cope without seeing them for so many months. I just have to figure out when I can come back, either Thanksgiving or Christmas. Im going to miss it so much, so Im constantly making sure Im soaking up every second.

Anyways, until tomorrow...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb