The swing of things...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Coventry
January 24th 2007
Published: January 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tuesdays LOW: Waking up after a great night.
Tuesdays HIGH: Jumping out my window to play in the snow.
Todays LOW: My cannibalism class.
Todays HIGH: Playing spoons and burrow.

So as I said before, Monday night was a lot of fun, which made Tuesday morning not so fun. But I had a meeting with a history professor about taking his class instead of my impossibly hard psyc class. I was really happy about that. Then I went to the lib and tried to find some materials to read for some of my classes. The structure of a course is very different here in the way that here, there is much more emphasis placed on each student to do work out of the classroom. Therefore, there arent as many hours of lecture, but you really have to do the reading and assignments for every seminar and be able to sound like you know what youre talking about during a discussion. Also, each professor gives out a reading list for each seminar and you chose which things to read, but you have to search for them. So Im constantly running to the lib to get an article or looking up where I can find the journal online. Its not as structured, and it almost makes me feel like a true scholar. Plus, most students are assessed on only a few assignments, like a few essays. There are required essays that are just commented on by the professor so that when you write the assessed essay, you know how to execute it. So you do have to do a lot of writing, but a lot of it isnt graded. I havent decided which style I like better, I guess Ill figure it out when my grades are converted.
Anyways, after the lib, I came back and hung around for a while before dinner. After dinner we all hung out and eventually some people went to bed. Then it started SNOWING! I guess they dont really get snow here too much, so everyone was excited. I have only seen a little snow that melted in one day this year at UConn, so I was excited too. I went back to my room to do some reading, and then the snow really started coming down. It just looked so nice out, so I put my boots on and climbed out my window to play outside. Ive never lived on the first floor before, so this was a privilege. I ran around to the common room where some of the boys were still on the video games and I scared the crap out of them. It was hilarious! So then a couple came outside, and we drew dirty things in the snow and threw snowballs at a bunch of windows. We threw some at windows where lights were on, this one girl noticed and waved. Then Peter and I went to see if we could wake up Jonny and Chris, but theyre heavy sleepers. So we decided to give in to the cold and go back in. It was so much fun, I love the snow!

When I woke up today, I was sad to see that the drawings outside had melted away and it hadnt snowed anymore. 😞. Maybe next week. So I went to my business class where we talked about different styles of management. However, in the beginning of the class last week, we all went around and gave an introduction and more than 1/2 of the class is international. But the professor limits the discussion to talking about the UK...so the discussion was like pulling teeth. After, I went to the lib once again, and finally headed back to the flat. A few of us hung out in the common room and I played the boys some American music since Im always listening to new English music. There are a lot of things I need to download when I get home. I then trudged through 2-3 hours of reading...about cannibalism. Gross. Seriously, this is the second week were doing this in my History of Latin American Culture of Food class. AH! So I headed to class, hoping it wouldnt be as painful as the previous week. My hopes were shreaded and stomped on. Its hard being stereotyped as the stupid American in the first place, but when Im in a class where, besides myself, there is only one other person under the age of 21, its even harder. I tend to be very upfront with my opinions to begin with, maybe thats the American in me, and I think most other people in that class are very conservative and reserved. Like last week, everyone is trying to sound educated, and we all just talked ourselves into a circle. In the end, everything was overanalyzed and became arbitrary. At one point the professor started discussing this metaphor of cannibalism as the encorporation of European culture into Brazilians (cannibals) during colonialization. It was just so outlandish, and I stated that I thought the philosophers that were dreaming this stuff up had to be really bored and it is such a stretch of the imagination. So a couple people started trying to simplify it for me. I am not stupid, Im just not such a sheep as to conform to any load of bs thrown in by some crazy philosophers. When people tried to compare it to something smaller, no one could. So there...no one could explain the madness. What also got me was that a few people decided it would be easier to start the class at 615pm instead of 6, so we sat around at the beginning for a while. We started at 610 and she kept us until 825 when the class was originally suppose to end at 8. What a nightmare. Plus, what we stayed for, was to watch this movie with naked people romanticizing cannibalism. I felt like I was in some obscure universe. So, after that, I was just furious, tense, and fed up. I returned my materials to the lib and powerwalked home in a rage. Discussing cannibalism in a 'food' class for over 2 hours when your friends are eating dinner is just torture. Luckily, I didnt miss dinner so I grabbed a cider and hung out. Still tense from the whole cannibalism discussion, I took my first real bath here. OMG, it was soooooo fantastic. I put Veronica Mars on my laptop and watched it in the tub with a pint of cider. Now that is a good way to end a stressful day. Then I went and hung out in the common room and we played Spoons and this new game that Jonny taught us, Burrow. It was so much fun, it reminded me of being on the boat, but we could be LOUD! After I came in 3rd in Burrow, we wrapped up the night making dirty sentences with the magnetic poetry on the fridge. Since my Thursday classes are every other week, Im sleeping in tomorrow...which means Im going to go watch some online TV tonight.

Advertisement



29th January 2007

hahaha your cannibalism class sounds ridiculous.

Tot: 0.307s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb