Weekend in Birmingham


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Birmingham
January 6th 2006
Published: March 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Chris, Bob, Mitch & DaveChris, Bob, Mitch & DaveChris, Bob, Mitch & Dave

In the Briar Rose

Return to Brum


I went to Birmingham for the weekend to catch up with my old workmates and housemates. I flew in on Friday evening and met up with Dave, Chris, Bob & Mitch in the Briar Rose. Later we walked to Broad Street to have a curry and then back to the city centre to Red for our cheese course. We were slightly disappointed with Red as it had turned into more of a club than a late bar venue. There was a new dj box and a guy playing the bongos (not that you could hear him over the music). We stayed for a drink and then decided it was time we retired for the night. I caught a taxi back to Stafford with Dave. Dave thought he'd forgotten his keys so we had to wake up his girlfriend, Paula, to let us in. Dave found his keys seconds before she opened the door, doh!

Saturday


We'd planned to go to the monkey forest in Stafford (yes, bizarre), but as it was raining we decided it might not be the best idea. Instead we went to a nice place in the country for afternoon tea. That evening Bob & Chris came up to Stafford and we all went for dinner in the Hand & Cleaver (a pub in the middle of no-where). Dave & Paula took the opportunity to announce their recent engagement to us.

Sunday


I returned to Birmingham, firstly to meet Tracey and Thomas who I'd lived with when I first moved to Birmingham. In the evening I met my old housemates from York Rd and went to the Garden House across the road for dinner and drinks.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Chris, Bob,Mitch & DaveChris, Bob,Mitch & Dave
Chris, Bob,Mitch & Dave

Bob? Mitch? What's going on????
Chris, me, Dave & BobChris, me, Dave & Bob
Chris, me, Dave & Bob

That's better!
Me, Dave, Bob & MitchMe, Dave, Bob & Mitch
Me, Dave, Bob & Mitch

Cheers - well done Dave & Bob!
The happy coupleThe happy couple
The happy couple

Dave & Paula get engaged
Xmas lights!Xmas lights!
Xmas lights!

Driving home from the Hand & Cleaver


Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb