Run fat boy run


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Birmingham
October 27th 2008
Published: October 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The MafiaThe MafiaThe Mafia

Just missing the Tommy gun!
Hi Guys,

The party was a great success. It was fantastic to see Nan enjoy all the attention and she was making jokes during the toasts.
Our costumes where a great success. The boys as Al Capone and the girls in their flapper dresses. As promised here is a photo.

It was an early night for me on the evening. I did manage to get a few hours sleep despite being really nervous. At 5am I woke and started to get ready. At 7am I was at the start line in the pouring rain and freezing cold ,wondering what the hell I was doing there! Sitting in car trying to keep warm until the 9:30am start.

The event attracted over 9000 entries, double the number they had hoped for. I started around the back of the pack to keep out of the main crush.
I felt really good when I crossed the start line, if bloody wet and cold! I was ill prepared for the psychological battle I would experience. After running non stop for what seemed like forever I passed the 2 mile marker and I felt the most demoralized I have ever experienced! My mind raced off trying to figure out how long it would take to do the remaining 11 miles and hell there was 11 miles to go!
Anyway, there was a great amount of support along the route as people cheered us on. Passing people playing the rocky theme and Benny hill theme and much more, it was quite an experience.
It was good to see the mile markers increase, the panic setting in I realised I may finish but at what time? Kept me moving, if slowly.
The 500m marker was a relief but hell how long is 500m? A very long way! Finally the finish line came into view and I started to sprint. Well I think it was a sprint, probably flailing my arms and legs around in all directions like a mad man, I would hate to see the video of it!

I finished!! Okay, maybe I did not give the winner much of a scare (winning time: 1:05:42), maybe next time. I crawled in at 2hr 43 mins
Thanks to all for the support and encouragement.

Only a few more days before I leave England for Europe. I hope I regain use of my body by then! I‘m a little sore!. More to follow shortly.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0859s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb