Day three UK tour 2021


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Tyne & Wear » Whitley Bay
August 4th 2021
Published: August 4th 2021
Edit Blog Post

First order of today was to not have to have my hand down the toilet before breakfast (goal achieved, go me). Instead I took the boy for a swim, before we headed out for breakfast at the café at the community centre where my oldest friend in the world works. Within a minute of getting the good I had sprayed my white t shirt with ketchup, which in itself wasn't great but given that my friends colleague had just asked if she could take our pic for their website it was a tad more public! Food eaten and friends work explored, we made our way to the lighthouse beach nearby. Within one minute of getting in the car I was covered in sprinkles from Seth's funny face biscuit, adding nicely to the ketchup.....

The beach was rockpooling heaven but as we head limited time we stayed in normal shoes and normal clothes. This was a mistake. Seth was paddling within minutes (he did at least take his shoes off) but the lure of the water was too great and in he sat. Fully dressed.

As the big black cloud approached, we manhandled Seth into dry clothes and left to go to the zoo. Within one minute of leaving, I spilt Pepsi Max down my already quite dirty t shirt.......

The excitement of meeting the capybara was palpable in the car. We arrived at the zoo and had a good wander first. Not the most full of zoos but fun none the less. A particular highlight was watching three harvest mice embroiled in an X rated drama and, probably successfully, repopulating their cage many times over. Finally it was time. Ash had long been obsessed with the king of the rodent world and was still fairly sure he could take a capybara home as a pet. Seth and I stood watching as he found himself surrounded by them, all nibbling on broccoli and squash. Having had to sign a disclaimer should they 'forget to stop chewing and eat your finger' and having seen how their, albeit herbivorous, teeth tore into a butternut squash, I think ash may fully have accepted that capybara will not be living with us any time soon. Seth and myself though were most intrigued by the fact that they can only poop when they have wet feet (Seth cornered a guy working on the new enclosure so we now know all about capybara, the current and future building projects as well as the inner workings of the zoo itself....)

Tea was another bed picnic with pudding for me a huge creamy sugary thing eaten at my lovely friends. As I was going out, I changed my filthy top for a nice clean one. Within minutes the lovely creamy caramelly desert thing had leaked caramel on my new top as I carried it ....

Tomorrow I will be buying a bib.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb