Newcastle


Advertisement
Published: October 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Georgian buildings on Grey StreetGeorgian buildings on Grey StreetGeorgian buildings on Grey Street

voted 'best street in Britain'. A somewhat dubious claim to fame
It was wet and miserable as I arrived into Newcastle upon Tyne. Newcastle must also be one of the world's most frustrating cities because nothing is where the map says it should be, which is always fun when it's pouring with rain and socks and thongs are not a good fashion statement.

But I found the hostel at last, although one of the first things the guy who checked me in said was that he didn't like Australians - always a good thing to admit to your Australian clientele, especially when we probably make up the bulk of his business given the number of aussies I've met on the road. That aside, the hostel seems clean and new enough and I'm here for five days, so I guess it will have to do.

I'm not really sure WHY I'm here for five days though. Newcastle hasn't really endeared itself to me - cold and wet aside, it's still coming out of its grittier, industrial past, and unlike in Bath, the Georgian buildings here only make the city seem even more imposing. On a more positive note, I did go out and visit the 'Angel of the North' statue today,
Along the river TyneAlong the river TyneAlong the river Tyne

10 o'clock in the morning and not a soul to be seen. Where could they all possibly be?
which has to be one of the most random and pointless peices of public art I've ever seen, and therefore totally worth the good 2 or 3 hours I spent there gawking at it.

I have another 3 days here and a day trip to Durham and Hadrian's Wall planned. I've heard good things about both, but still no idea what to do on my final day here in Newcastle. Oh well, I'm sure something will come up.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

NewcastleNewcastle
Newcastle

Not sure why but this shot seemed to typify Newcastle for me. Kinda gritty and dirty and industrial all at once
Bridges over the River TyneBridges over the River Tyne
Bridges over the River Tyne

I have no idea why these bridges are so famous, unless it's because people are laughing at how absurd it is to have so many bridges crossing the river only a few hundred metres apart.
NewcastleNewcastle
Newcastle

from the opposite side of the river
On the way to Angel of the NorthOn the way to Angel of the North
On the way to Angel of the North

imagine waking up to views like that!
Angel of the NorthAngel of the North
Angel of the North

seriously, why?


Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb