The Riverboat That Almost Wasn't ...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey » Egham
August 2nd 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last night was the big banquet and riverboat for the 6 week students. I planned the coach assignments, got my Friday evening trips off and went to get all dressed up for the night. As I am about to get into the shower I start thinking about the coaches and realized that if I didn't order the coaches who the hell did??? It hit me out of nowhere, 2 hours before departure, that I was lacking two 50 seater coaches to drive to the Festival Pier in London. Panic set in ... I called our contact and basically cried, plead, and told him I would pay 10,000 lbs for a coach and that I didn't care if he had to get them from Scotland, I needed those busses! He told me he would "work on it." So I called Cal, who did this job last year and I was his assistant, and we sat outside in the garden cursing, pacing, laughing, crying, until my Director called. He said he heard a trip was cancelled ... I, of course, not wanting to make him panic just said I had it all covered. Somehow, I suppose my crying worked. He got us the coaches and everything went off just fine. My drive into London consisted of hitting another van's mirror and getting threatened by a crazy British driver, pulling up on a curb in the middle of central London to unload DJ equipment and then getting a slight bit lost on the way over to the entry pier by myself. But, the cruise was amazing and all ended well in the long run. I guess I now know what had been eating away at me for days ... that I had forgotten to do something.

I of course had just said the other day that I hadn't messed anything up this summer ... alas, my own words came to bite me in the end. Be careful what you wish for, I suppose.


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb