Canterbury Tales????


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Canterbury
August 2nd 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I chaperoned a trip to Canterbury. I scheduled a boat tour which consisted of a very funny (and perverted) rower from Belfast, a small "river", and a lot of laughs. I learned about the Grey Friars and the Black Friars and most interestingly saw baby hens on sitting on a brick. The cathedral was amazing, as were the tombs, the crypt and the cloisters. I don't know, but this year it almost seems like I have seen so many cloisters they all look about the same!

The funniest moment of all was when I saw some signs for a craft fair. Thinking I could find something handmade for my mom I followed the signs through the winding roads which lead me to a very old creepy church. I ventured inside and found two little old ladies who had knit a bunch of cactus people with eyeballs. I think they were fingerpuppets. And THAT was the craft fair. I probably should have bought one just to make a joke of my handmade cactus with eyes. So I met up with my friends, climbed a tree in a field on grey friar island and set back for home.

Not once, in the entire trip, did I hear of Chaucer or the Canterbury Tales. Interesting, considering it publicized in the Lonely Planet and I imagined I would be completely over-Chaucered by the end of the day. Instead I sent into Magic shops, saw tatoo parlors galore and various body piercing shops. Not quite what I had expected.


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb