The Road to Thailand


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Suffolk
June 13th 2008
Published: June 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The beginning.......

I have made decision.

I need to go somewhere and that somewhere is Thailand. I will be 30 and I am sure the biological clock is going to kick in at any moment. I suspect one night I will be awoken at 2am or some other ungodly hour by the ticking getting louder and louder!

Here's my story. I am 28 (and a half!). I have been with my partner for 9 (and a half) years. You can see I have a thing about halfs, counting the halfs makes me feel 5 again. We live by the sea and are not engaged, have no children or a mortgage. Ever since I have met my boyfriend he has been banging on and on about travelling the world, however now I have come around to the idea of maybe taking some time off work and going for it, he has bought some land and has starting saying things like "I dont know where the business is going", "I have to build a house" yada yada yada.

The mission therefore is to sell him on the idea to take 5-6 weeks off next year and fly to Thailand, buy a rail pass and see where we go. Although, to be honest, I have already planned that (don't tell him). Fly to Chiang Mai and travel down to Singapore. Now all I have to do it convince him!

We have two friends (a couple, who I will call R&A) who I think could also be convinced this is a highly grand idea and that they too can join us.

I have worked out I need roughly £3000 to survive the 6 weeks comfortably (where this will come from I have no idea) but I have a figure and thats a good start.

I am hoping this blog begins as a planning exercise and will tell the tale of me 'brainwashing' my boyfriend (does subliminal messages actually work?? Might give it a go!) and will also, fingers crossed, document my travels when the dream becomes a reality.

As someone once said "Live the dream, there simply isn't enough time to do anything else" Wise words.

I will update when the need arises, wish me luck!!!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb