Travel Time


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Suffolk » Bury Saint Edmunds
September 5th 2009
Published: September 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well last week was a short week: 3 days but that helped to ease us into what its going to be like working at the CDC for the next three months. Thursday was actually a fun day which made it go by quickly. In the morning I found myself thrown into the 1 year old room because they were very short on staff that day. Being in the 1 yr old room room made me realize what a developmental difference there is between the 1 yr olds and the 2 yr olds. Just one year makes a huge difference. For instance I have come to appreciate that although 2 year olds still scream and hit each other they can actually respond to your questions and tell you how they are feeling or what book they want you to read to them. I much prefer the 2 year olds; their personalities are really starting to develop and they just crack me up. Being on the base had also made me realize that although the kids I have been working with are only 2 and you think they wouldnt really know whats going on around them they actually do. Both incidents happened at recesses. I helping kids go down the slide when an airplane passed over head and a little boy kept shouting that his dad was on it and if it was going to land at the center. Just moments later I saw a little girl crying in the corner. When I went over she told me how she missed her mom and she just wanted someone to hold her for a bit. It was a tad depressing to see how hard deployment affects even the youngest kids.

Anyway, Friday we were given the day off and the bases arranged for all the newcomers to take a day trip to Bury Saint Edmunds. We all ate at a little pub and for many of the people on the trip it was their first time out of the country so it was quite an experience. Later the 7 of us interns went on a tour of a catherdral and it was amazing inside. The stained glass windows were beautiful and they even had a kneeler dedicated to one of the bases.

Today some of us were able to take a trip into Cambridge. For me it was one of the strangest feelings being there. Ive been there before but that was with my close friend Katie from my Nottingham trip. So it kind of felt taboo being there without any from the Nottingham group. But overall I had a lot of fun traveling with my new group of friends. We saw Kings Chapel and walked through some on different areas of Cambridge University. And of course we even fit in time for some shopping.

So far I am enjoying my trip but the transition of living on a base with so many rules and in the middle of nowhere is kind of hard.

Anyway, hope everyone is doing well!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



21st September 2009

Rules?
Rules? You follow rules? That must be tough, LOL. How are the men in uniform? That is sad about the little kids. They grow so fast and their parents have to be so far. Are you enjoying your work? The trees are turning colors already and looking pretty. Last week was like summer and this week is like fall. Tom gets his knee surgery Thursday. I acn't wait to take advantage of him while he is on medication, LOL. It's like a truth serum, ha ha. I am making him nervous. Work is work and Iwe have a great seventh grade class this year. I have 14 resource kids and they are all super! Well, don't forget to take pics and we will see you before you know it. Love Ya, Julie
1st October 2009

!!!
I wish I could've went to Cambridge with you! I hope they peer pressured you to walk through the campus like I would have done had I been there :) It sounds like you're having amazing adventures and I wish I could explore the UK with you again. Miss you!!!
9th November 2009

Interesting article!
Hey! Was interesting reading your article. I thought it would be perfect for my forum. I am passionate about traveling and i believe traveling is for everyone. Which is why i figured it would be great if people who are passionate about traveling could share tips about traveling cheap, a site which would not be owned by some big company trying to tell you that budget traveling is about staying in a hotel room that costs US$ 100 per day! Anyways, do check out my website BudgetTraveller(Dot)Info and i would love to have you contributing to it :) I think your experiences can make traveling better for tons of people around and i want to take budgetTraveller to a place where people would know that they would be able to find that information here! Thanks again...

Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0153s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb