Tesco Green Wheelie Bag will travel


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » South Yorkshire » Sheffield
June 17th 2008
Published: June 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

wheelie bag to gowheelie bag to gowheelie bag to go

Tesco Wheelie bag to go....

Tesco Green Wheelie bag will travel.



As it's only 14 days until we move out of our house and 48 days until we leave for China, our thoughts have turned to packing and re packing and re re packing.

As Chris has been frantically digging, like a dog, in the large box upstairs on the landing, to try to gather all of his equipment together - it's been a dawning lesson to us both as to how we are not going to be able to carry everything that has been bought for our journey (and has yet to be bought). Chris has everything for every eventuality and every possible life enhancing, thrill seeking, heart pounding extracurricular sporting activity, whereas, my mind turned to wonder how I'm going to fit the ever increasing library of books and flexi maps into the non existent gaps in my backpack.

Never fear, Tesco is here.

It came to light that when I was in Woodseats on Saturday, I saw the ideal old granny style wheelie bag (promoted as eco friendly, green, 'collect your points bag') that would fit the exact purpose of a disposable travelling bag to get from here to
wheelie bag wheelie bag wheelie bag

Tesco wheelie bag travelling library
South China. However, a creeping suspicion lingered that Chris would not be seen dead near it.

Whilst walking round the shop, I wondered how I could smoothly plant the seed of taking a wheelie bag with us to Lijiang. But 'bull in a china shop' tends to be my middle name and I just blurted it out that it'd be a great idea to take the wheelie bag........

My initial suspicion was correct and he point blank said, "no".

It's two days later and after 3 full packing and repacking sessions, Chris, realised that everything was not going to fit into his backpack and that he has as many books, if not more, than me to take. So, the idea of the Green wheelie bag was reintroduced and refashioned as a travelling library bag/food and drink bag for the Trans Manchurian journey and he kinda gave in.

Which means, I went and got the bag today and test drove it home.

When I told the cashier that I was taking the bag to China, she said, "yes, everything's made in China these days." and when I said, "no, I'm taking it to China." She laughed and laughed.


On the way home it wheeled faster than I could walk down the hill, it rammed me in the ankles twice (I have sandals on) it's not good on bumpy roads and it's definitely not strong. It also made my arm ache whilst walking with the shopping in it because it doesn't have strong supporting handles and it sags down, thus making my arms bear the weight and not the hoped for bag doing the work for me, but I won't tell Chris that tiny detail and he'll have stopped reading by now so he won't find that bit out until it's too late.

So, here it is. Standing outside my house - ready for action.

Have Tesco bag, will travel from Sheffield to South China and my aim is to leave or swap books on the way and give the wheelie bag away to a friendly old lady in Lijiang with short, strong arms that will bear the weight of a well travelled sagging tesco wheelie bag.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb