Glastonbury


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Glastonbury
July 2nd 2008
Published: July 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Its me, Jen and Mel off to Glastonbury for the weekend. 137,000 people in one place at one time makes 20,000 at Summadayze look kinda small.

So its Friday, i've got the day off work, we're 2 hours on a bus to Bristol and then we're 45 mins from the biggest gig of my life. Well, 45 minutes if you know where it is. 2 hours or so later and we're dragging our gear through 3 inches of mud and trying to find somewhere to camp.

Friday night we found some food and then headed down to the main stage to watch the Fratelli's. I want to see Xavier Rudd over at the Avalon tent so I head off to Australia-Fest and a bit of a party. I've seen him four or five times and this was definately the best show i've seen him at. Once Xavier's done it's back to the pyramid stage to watch Kings of Leon. How many people can you get in front of one stage? 85,000 thats how many. Bit of a mission to find the girls (we're near the UN flag??!!) but did eventually. The Kings of rocked but towards the end we're over the crowd and its time to listen to some beats. So we do...until 3am!!

Bloody hell it was muddy...I had to buy some wellies coz my shoes would not survive!! But it hasn't rained much and it's OK.

Saturday was a slow start but Crowded House are at the main stage. We're sitting on the hill in the sun and loving it. I'm too relaxed to move so I sit (well lay) where I am and listen to James Blunt. He wasn't as bad as I thought he'd be but now i'm starving and i'm off to find some dinner. Later that evening it's Amy Winehouse (off her face - she punched someone in the crowd and rambled all the way through, but the music was good) and I can hear better music elsewhere. I'm wandering through the markets watching the stoned people while I wait for Kosheen to start. They rocked, probably one of the best of the weekend, but by 1am i'm done.

Sunday. Theres not much on this morning. Hoodoo Gurus and Neil Diamond are on later, and Groove Armada close the show tonight. But we have to get back to Bristol and then on the bus back to London. Its the Euro2008 final tonight so there's a mission to get back for the party. But I end up sleeping through the second half!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The AftermathThe Aftermath
The Aftermath

A photo inside one of the tents at 3am


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb