T-5


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Clevedon
March 20th 2011
Published: March 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

20110320


The day dawned cold. The cloud once again hanging around 1800ft but much more active than yesterday. The wind temperature was rather low. The legs felt tight but rested. Drive up to Ogwen Cottage and park the car. Slide the boots on and the feet complain a little but I'm on the trail by 9. The wind picks up steadily as I start the long trek up to the ridge route to Y Garn. By half way up, I'm arming myself with waterproofs and windproofs from head to toe before heading into the cloud.

Steady pace up through the cold and swirling murk. Visibility down to no more than twenty metres but I'm confident of navigation here. Already decided it won't be worth the lengthy march along the tops as they're all in cloud so I'm on a horseshoe route again. I step onto the summit ridge into a vicious wind. Cold and wet and pleasantly invigorating. Struggling somewhat to walk upright, I make my way to the summit. I don't stop long. I begin to follow the vague path down the other side of Y Garn, the howling gale at my back transforming each step to a controlled leap. It's a been a while since I've been up on a summit in a proper welsh cloud.

The wind is driving the cloud hard and the gaps allow the occasional glimpse of the Devil's Appendix (a dangerous gully to be avoided) below me, confirming my location. Down out of the cloud the world seems windier but less oppressive. Hike down to the wee mountain lake I've seen a few times before and take the left down the long trail of rock "steps" down to the bottom of the bowl. Slow and careful march down as every rock has turned into a slimy, slippery slab ready to fling me over. I can't afford a twisted ankle or anything worse so slow is the name of the game. Only been out for a couple of hours now so no hurry. Llyn Idwal appears and disappears below me as I make my way down the steep gully. Eventually down onto flatter ground and a slightly heart-stopping scramble over wet slabs across a stream leads to easy ground and a gentle wander back down to the car.

So that was the last hike before Nepal. The next time I put my boots on I'll be at 10,000 feet in Lukla. It now becomes a little bit more real by the day. After this weekend's hikes, I feel more confident about my fitness so it's just a question of treating myself kindly from here on in and hoping the altitude treats me likewise.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.3s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb