Stonehenge and Bath


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
November 3rd 2009
Published: November 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, apparently, there have been some complaints that I don't post often enough. Well, I never said that I would! I do still have a job that I have to keep up with!! :P

The weekend before last, I didn't go sightseeing, but I did have a fun time. I got to babysit my nephews! My brother and sister-in-law wanted to celebrate their 10th anniversary, which isn't until next March. However, since they are expecting baby #3 in February, they decided that a trip now would be the best option. They left for Rome, Italy on Friday afternoon. My nephews were a lot of fun. Jack is almost 4 (he says that he is 3 and 3/4!), while Theo is about 15 months. We played, watched videos, and read lots of books! Two great questions from Jack over the weekend (both directed at me):
- are you pregnant? (natural enough since his mom is pregnant)
- why don't you have a husband? (what?? has he been talking to Nana?? I told him it was because God hadn't sent me one). *giggle*
Charles and Erin came home on Monday night after a great mini-vacation. Both boys survived their aunt's care and were excited to see them.

This past weekend, Karen and I went to Stonehenge and Bath. I had been to both a few years ago with Charles, Erin and Jack, but it was fun to go again. The first time I had gone to Stonehenge, we didn't actually pay to walk around the stones. I just took some pictures from the road. :-) This time, Karen and I were able to get in with our English Heritage membership. It also included an audio guide. It was cold and VERY windy, but still interesting. Of course, you can't walk right up to the stones anymore, but I think we both got some great photos (I haven't downloaded mine yet because I'm having trouble with my computer - I'm using a loaner right now, so I will have to post them later).

After leaving Stonehenge, we went to Bath. We finally found a place to park. The city was VERY crowded! I later learned that the Bath rugby team had a match that day, so that was part of the problem. Of course, tourism is very big there as well. We started out by going to the Jane Austen Centre. We both LOVE her books, specifically Pride & Prejudice. We also really love the A&E/BBC version of the movie with Colin Firth. We want to plan a trip back to go to the Jane Austen Festival that is held each year in September. I have a couple of cousins who also want to go. I think we need to pick a year and start planning now! Hint, hint....

After leaving the Jane Austen Centre, we walked over to the Assembly Rooms. It was really cool inside. We could imagine going to dance and meet eligible men in the evenings. After all, we are of marriageable age (although, some would argue that I am WAY past my prime...and a burden on my family since I am over 30!). hehe

We walked around the town a little bit more before heading back to the car. We had made arrangements with a B&B to arrive between 5 and 6 PM. After a bit of trouble with the sat nav, we finally made it. Of course, navigating in the dark with LOTS of traffic is never any fun. However, it was worth it. The place we stayed was fantastic! The owner also has Celiac's Disease (like Karen), so understood her dietary needs really well. We were shown to a beautiful room. All of the furnishings were really nice. We kept thinking of Nana (our paternal grandmother). She would have LOVED the place. Karen took some photos, so I will need to get them from her to post. After checking in, we headed out to a pub that Colin (the owner) had recommended. We both had a good dinner. After that, we went back to the B&B and collapsed. Obviously, we're both getting old and have trouble handling just one day of sightseeing. :-)

The next morning, we woke to pouring rain and really strong winds! That kind of nixed the walking tour that the Bath Mayor's office does each day for free (it's a really great tour - I went on it last time with Charles & Erin). However, we decided that indoor pursuits would be better. After a really good breakfast (including gluten-free bread for both of us), we loaded up the car and headed back to City Centre. We started out by visiting the Royal Crescent. While this is outdoors, we were able to visit the museum at #1. It was nice. The volunteer guides were really nice and had some good info about the house and time period (Georgian). We then wandered down to the Roman Baths. We took the audio guide tour through it. Again, LOTS of info. And it was really crowded, but still lots of fun. Then we grabbed a late lunch and decided to head home. The weather was still a bit iffy and we figured it wouldn't hurt to have an early evening. I dropped Karen off in Oxford, picked up some things that had arrived in a care package (thanks, Mom!!), and headed home to Reading.

Next Monday, I head to Cluj, Romania for a customer. It is in the Transylvania part of Romania, so should be interesting. I will be there over a weekend, so look for postings and photos.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb