Bath, Bristol, and Chepstow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
February 19th 2006
Published: February 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

London to Bath to Bristol to Chepstow


This past weekend I went to Bath, Bristow, and Chepstow. Bath is a beautiful city; there is so much amazing architecture, and the town itself, though very touristy, has so much history and is so much fun. I took a walking tour and saw many of the important parts of Bath, and I also toured the Roman Baths, which, though very cool, got boring becuase the tour lasted over an hour! Therre was also a lot of shopping I wanted to do, but I smarty kept my pocketbook closed.

I also went to Bristol, which used to be a major port city in England, though nowadays the port has moved further down the river. It's very large compared to Bath, and it has more life in it because it doubles as a university town. We went to the suspension bridge there, and if I were paying more attention to the tour guide, I could probably recount the architect. Nevertheless, it was very nice.

We stayed at s hostel in Bath, right near the city-center. It was an extremely good location, but I didn't go out as much as I had planned. Well, at least I got some reading done.

On Sunday, we went to Chepstow in Wales, to see a castle. Once you've seen one castle/fort, you've basically seen them all, but at least I can say I've been to Wales! Also, on the way back to London, we stopped at Stonehenge! (I also add that on the way to Bath from London, we stopped at Avesbury, which also has large stones; unlike Stonehenge, people can touch these stones). Stonehenge was pretty much what I expected; it was cool to actually seeing it, because it's something I've always seen in pictures and never imagined that I'd see in real life

All in all, the weekend was good. I saw many an interesting sight, met new people, and had some fun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The suspension bridge in BristolThe suspension bridge in Bristol
The suspension bridge in Bristol

Yeah, I"m really bad with names and I don't remember what this is called or it's architect.
Elderly CrossingElderly Crossing
Elderly Crossing

In Wales, of course.


24th February 2006

o goodness.. why did you just use the word "pocketbook"

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb